Skip to content

I Heart Grace… Really?

January 22, 2010

Everyone seems to love grace. I do. And everyone seems to love God’s grace. I have even talked to non-christians that have told me they love God’s grace. I am not sure they know what it is, but my point is still proven… everyone loves grace.

In my life finding grace has been the greatest discovery, that God would give me grace and save me from an eternity of damnation humbles me very much. If it were not for a gracious God I would burn forever and ever.

Lately I have thought alot about discipline. Often times in life, when you are in a position of authority (i.e. a pastor, leader, or parent) you must discipline people, employees, or kids. No one enjoys discipline, because most of the time people are too prideful to see the good in it. I know that at times I have failed in this area of life. Most people run, leave a church, quite a job, or back out of a previous responsibility. As prideful humans we think walking away from someone who is disciplining us, we are better ourselves… when in fact when we run from our consequences or discipline we only hurt our own souls.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 3:38 pm

    I think unfortunately you find this said about our generation (20 somethings) that are not disciplined. I struggle with this myself. When you are criticized your first reaction is to hide and defend.

    Discipline is a tough thing to deal with.

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    January 22, 2010 10:10 pm

    Kyle I hear you. I got another post on the way. It is tough, but ultimately necessary.

Leave a comment