Skip to content

No Motivation

April 27, 2011

Have you ever hit a spot in life where you just did not want to do anything? I am sure you have. That is kind of how I feel with blogging. I will admit, I don’t have enough motivation. I know writing this I would go against some rule of blogging that says not to say you don’t feel like it, but I don’t care. Can I say I got nothing?

It’s funny because I do have things on my brain. I would like to write about them. But I haven’t.

So I ask this question, and I am not sure who will listen, let alone answer… but what do you do when you don’t have motivation? What do you do when life gets busy and you don’t feel like writing or trying to help things get better?

I am up for solutions. Maybe they are right in front of my face, maybe they are tucked away and I just need to find them. Anyhow…here I am. Looking for motivation for blogging, in some ways looking for motivation for life. (Trust me it isn’t that bad, don’t worry too much I will be fine.)

But can you help a brother out?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 6:56 am

    I’ll take a shot at it from 3000 miles away. Sounds like you’re at a crossroads to me. My guess is you have unresolved conflicts and something in life feels undone. It drains us of creativity. Since creating thoughts is a particular gift of yours, I’m guessing the conflict is located in your thoughts and pondering rather than say, a relationship with someone.

    And sometimes too, former paths, certain habits, thought processes are not meant to be our future path and they quit fueling themselves. An old way loses it shine, but our loyalties fight it.

    I don’t think the ebb is blogging itself, since your gift for wrapping words around both the simple and the profound will always be there, it is something deeper that needs resolution.

    Free yourself, and your creative energies will flow again.

  2. April 28, 2011 11:19 am

    I’ve been here before.. My main motivation is knowing that I am doing it for the Lord and the people who have enjoyed reading it all of these years. I think those two elements are what has me thinking creatively, biblically and relationally as it relates to writing.

    Maybe beneficial to have some guest bloggers (your wife, yp friends, your pastor, students) time to time. Or write for a magazine like Group or Relevant.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      May 1, 2011 9:33 am

      Cory thanks for the encouragement. I don’t think I am good enough to write for mags. Maybe one day haha. As for the guests, I am gonna look into that. Send me something to post.

  3. April 28, 2011 2:49 pm

    Yo man I hope you keep blogging bc ur stuff is really good and makes me think… But seriously nothing like a fast to gain some perspective.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      May 1, 2011 9:35 am

      Al the fasting idea is good. Thanks bro.

Leave a Reply

