Skip to content

Being Righteous= being blessed? Is it guaranteed?

April 12, 2011

 

Mr. Dollar

 

 

I think before you answer the question in the title, is being righteous equal being blessed, I think you first must ask yourself is that statement Biblical? I have found the answer to that, to be yes. God blesses those who are righteous. He blesses those who are pursuing Him. Maybe I will create a list someday of how the Bible teaches that God blesses those who pursue relationship with Him.

It seems to be a popular idea, I mean, it is Biblical. It feels good. I mean who doesn’t want to be blessed and it seems as though through podcasts, books, TV, and many other forms of Christian communication there is an overall theme:

Be a moral (righteous) person and God will provide you with the life you always wanted. No stress, no money problems, a good marriage and obedient kids.

Where can I sign up? In fact, where can everyone sign up? If all I have to do is be a good person and I get what I want? Really?

Here is my concern with preaching the message above… both Christians, and non- Christians want to be blessed. Both want money, less stress, and good relationships. I think you would be hard pressed to find someone who doesn’t want these things. The problem with preaching this, IS IT IS NOT REALITY. (Yes it is available, but keep following me)

When a preacher, pastor, speaker, person on TV with $5000 dollar suit, preaches this message it rarely contains any information on how to deal with reality. What needs preached is the fact that God wants us to pursue Him, and no matter what happens to find Him as satisfying. We need to preach the whole Bible, not just the parts that will get people to raise their hands at the end of the service (you know the same 15 people who get saved every week)

Here is the facts, God promises the righteous to be blessed. But I am not so sure that is a guaranteed on earth. The names Peter, John the Baptist, Moses, and Stephen come to mind as I think through the Bible. All of those guys were pursing God. And in the end, it wasn’t pretty for them. Promising people that if they get their moral act together only pushes them towards white knuckled efforts to be a good person. It doesn’t teach them that no matter what the cost, we pursue Christ because HE IS WORTH IT.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 6:24 am

    Good post, bro. I was challenged.

Leave a Reply

