Skip to content

Prep

April 5, 2011

If you want to be good at something, I think it takes two things… see if you agree.

1. Practice

2. Prep

So today I am thinking about both. For the parts of my life that matter, how am I practicing to be better at them, and how can I prep in a more effective way?

For preaching, I am working on studying in advance, thinking 3 months ahead ( I used to think this was a dumb idea). I am also attempting to practice what I am going to say more than just a few times. This means preaching it 2 or 3 times before the day of.

For my business I recently created invoices for bids and billing. Makes things more professional. As far as practicing, I am just looking to slow down when I am working just a bit, and pay more attention to detail than I already do.

For what you do, I would be curious to know… how are you practicing, how are you prepping for what you do?

Go.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 10:58 am

    For me, before I’m about to speak/teach, I do the same as you. Also, not just preaching it 2-3 to myself but to others leaders. Maybe that’s collaborating with the youth pastor before I speak.

    Prepping I always saturated my message in prayer and allow the Holy Spirit to make changes. Good studying habits… Not just for a particular message, but just for overall time with God. At the end of it all, once I’m done speaking.. I give all thanks and glory to God. This keeps me in the right attitude and for me to receive from God as I prep for what’s next!

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    April 5, 2011 7:24 pm

    Cory I like that you talk with people before you speak at their place, so that raises a question… did you run it by people when you were working at a church full time?

    Love your attitude and heart bro!

    • April 6, 2011 2:54 pm

      Yes, just my leaders though.

      Also, when I would meet with other YP for lunch or at our local YP gatherings I would discuss it there.

Leave a Reply

