Skip to content

Prostitutes and Pastors… p1

March 15, 2011

I have said before that being in ministry is a life long dream and that following the evangelical movement has been something I have done since I was a child. Like some of you, I follow blogs, Twitter accounts, and listen to podcasts. As I have followed many pastors, I have noticed a trend in pastoral/ ministerial leadership circles. Pastors want to be coaches. And they want paid to do it. Add to this, the need/ want in young church leaders to be mentored and fathered and you have a recipient for disaster.  In the next few posts I want to discuss the issue of numerous coaching networks springing up all over the country, pastors selling their time for coaching and the need for spiritual fathers in the Church today.

You might be reading this and thinking that comparing a coach (ministerial) to a street worker seems harsh or extreme.  I will attempt to show, that in my opinion,  this is in fact the case. And not only is it the case, but in the long-term it will spread the disease of those who are spiritually fatherless in  ministry. I will also say this, I think pastors being coaches can be a positive thing. I can see the benefits of it, but in the end I think it’s thin ice we are walking on as a Church. I hope you will follow along as I address a problem that I see and how we can find a solution.

In the following posts over the next few days, I will give the rest of my thoughts on this topic. I hope you will come back and follow along… maybe even jump into the conversation.

Any initial thoughts?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. joel schafer permalink
    March 15, 2011 10:54 pm

    Pastors are meant to disciple leaders for this and the generation to come. But being paid to mentor (unless it is your church of salary) is not what Pastors should be doing. They have a church that they have to account for being Given the gospel and grooming Deacons to become elders and lay people to become decons.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      March 16, 2011 12:25 pm

      I like your thinking bud.

  2. March 16, 2011 12:45 am

    Intrigued friend! Looking forward to it…

  3. March 16, 2011 1:17 am

    Really looking forward to your thoughts on this. I’m all for being mentored/coached, and I even see some possible value in a coaching “network” (if the network exists to promote organizational/time/economic efficiency).

    I don’t want to pay for it.

    I should be clear. I don’t mind paying for a lunch or somehow contributing to the needs of the person/people who are doing the mentoring. I just don’t want to make someone rich for doling out some advice. I guess I just feel that if you are in a position to mentor someone, that becomes part of your ministry. All too often it seems to be a business model.

  4. March 16, 2011 1:43 pm

    This is going to be real good… I cringe at the thought of MegaChurch/Multi-Site Church Pastors charging someone just to be apart of a “coaching network.” Whats is even more sad, is that the prices at outrageously and ridiculously high!

    What every happen to being Spiritual Fathers to leaders who look up to you?

  5. Mrs Welsby permalink
    April 11, 2011 8:12 pm

    As the Beatles once sang, “Can’t buy me loooovvee.”

  6. Jim Mercuri permalink
    April 12, 2011 8:11 am

    If it is a valuable service, it is worth paying for, I am glad this is true at my job aren’t you?

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      April 12, 2011 9:03 am

      Jim I agree in part. When it comes to spiritual growth, and raising up the next generation is that a smart thing to do? Make them pay?

Trackbacks

  1. Prostitutes and Pastors… p2 «

Leave a Reply

