Skip to content

Sunday Night Thoughts

February 27, 2011

 

It’s that time of the week. I will try to hold back, but I have lots on my brain…

  • My wife went away this weekend to fast and pray. I love that she loves Jesus. I love her so much.
  • Avoiding people that you know you should have a conversation can never be a good thing. Hard conversations are a must.
  • Getting people to commit to a cause, an organization, or something of that nature is one of the hardest things to do.
  • THERE ARE NO SUCH THINGS AS LIBERAL CHRISTIANS. To claim that, is to be against anything the Bible teaches when it comes to following Christ.
  • Random for people that don’t care: My adult basketball team has started the season 2-0. It really doesn’t matter but I thought someone might want to know?
  • When you find out you have been talked about and it is not in a positive manner it never, ever, feels good.
  • I don’t like being limited or censored.
  • Acting like you are humble does not make you humble. That is the truth.
  • I think that Christian culture is in danger of putting to much emphasis on creativity and not enough on the Creator.
  • I have decided to keep my Facebook account, but will begin to eliminate people who make me upset. More on this later this week.

That’s all, I am out. Peace.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John Baldauff permalink
    February 28, 2011 9:40 am

    Following our quick interaction on Twitter, here are my thoughts:

    “THERE ARE NO SUCH THINGS AS LIBERAL CHRISTIANS. To claim that, is to be against anything the Bible teaches when it comes to following Christ.”

    This seems much too heavy of a statement to throw out on a blog without any further analysis. As a youth pastor I am sure that many of your students check out your blog. While some of them probably love thinking critically about what they see and hear, my guess is that the majority of them take things for face value, incorporate it into the lives one way or another, and move on. The problem then is that the above statement has serious implications for how you live your life, what you consider to be orthodox, and how you communicate to those people outside your definition of orthodoxy.

    Also, the terms liberal and conservative have become extremely convoluted due, in part, to the American political system. You might get a student whose mom or dad is a staunch, blue collar democrat or an Obama supporter and they will immediately think that you are questioning their parent’s faith. Again, serious implications.

    Now, if by liberal Christian, you mean someone who does not believe in the trinity, resurrection, inspired scripture, ascension etc. then that leaves some avenues for good discussion. But I know quite a few people that love Jesus, and claim to be liberal (not in the political sense) and they might scoff at such a blog statement, click on the little “x” in the top right corner, and never join in on the discussion.

    Thanks Ben.

  2. March 2, 2011 12:54 pm

    “I think that Christian culture is in danger of putting to much emphasis on creativity and not enough on the Creator.”

    Totally agree! The Church focus way too much on creativity/production (vanity) and buildings/facilities and less on Jesus! There’s is a day coming where people will be highly offended when destruction comes and Jesus says “Depart from me, for I never knew you!” And its simple because we have bought the lie and have sold it as leaders. Praying we get back to Acts 2:42-47

Leave a Reply

