Skip to content

Maybe It’s Because They Feel Guilty?

February 22, 2011

We live in a day in age where everything is questioned. Everyone has an opinion, and they are entitled to that. We second guess everything we are told, taught and believe. And in some aspects I am all for that. I am all for people thinking things through, to a point of knowing what they believe… that must happen.

But what about when it comes to taking a stand? What happens when you have a belief and people get mad? It does happen doesn’t? Does it ever seem like only certain, most often successful, people get to have the opinions? Why is it that only certain people can say strong statements? Are only “successful” people allowed to have opinions? Does everyone have to follow them?

This post is just a thought… but sometimes I feel like when I say a strong statement, or question how something is being done, or think something that doesn’t go with whatever everyone else is doing, I catch flack. And maybe I am wrong sometimes, chances are I am. I am a sinner after all. I have never claimed to be perfect.

But then there are times where I think people don’t like what is said because they know they are wrong, they know things should change or they know that what has been said is true and it just doesn’t sit well with them. Or even this, maybe when something doesn’t sit well with you it is because when you hear it, it makes you feel guilty.

So the next time you hear, read or see something that makes you feel uncomfortable… before you jump on that person, or better, stab them in the back… maybe we should ask ourselves, does this make me uncomfortable because I know I am wrong?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 11:13 am

    Good stuff ben. I agree with you. What I hate is when you finally understand something and you completely believe it to be truth and a hard fact, and people say that they ont believe that OPINION or THEORY! Its so confusing because they can’t back their beliefs up at all with scripture and yet they believe they’re the ones with all the answers. Very interesting.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      February 22, 2011 7:55 pm

      So the question I guess is, how does someone deal with that? Just keep your mouth shut? I would be down to hear what you have to say.

      • March 10, 2011 1:40 pm

        Well Ben that is a hard one. I guess it comes down to deciding what you want to fight for and what you are okay with people being ignorant about. I am not the best person to ask when it comes to shutting up. I am learning through a lot of bad experiences that Christians, if we stick to the truth of the Bible, will not be popular. Especially in the visible church. You can see that happening right now with all this Rob Bell stuff. People will die defending bad teachers and hating biblical orthodox Christians, even so called Christians. I’d say, keep fighting for the Truth of God’s Word and God will be honored in that, as long as it is all in love. But that is so cliche and is hard to see tangibly.

Leave a Reply

