Skip to content

Husbands as stay at home dads?

February 3, 2011

Saw this on the web yesterday. Makes you think about things.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 11:10 am

    I have difficulty with this narrow interpretation of the Word, they tend to reject some cultural context that surrounded those scriptures during that time. What do they do with clear-cut businesswomen that were in the New Testament?
    I really disagree with Driscoll’s continued 1950’s approach to male/female roles. Of course, others have other views and opinions of this and they should be heard too. Good video post.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      February 3, 2011 12:13 pm

      Ben I agree that their interpretation of the verse in 1 Tim 5:8 that they are talking about is a little narrow minded. But I don’t think they are far off of the point.
      As much as I like Driscoll I think He could use more tact, but his style works for their church. I know they have lots of men in their church, which I would guess compared to the majority of churches is pretty rare.

      As far as the 1950’s thing I hear what you are saying. Time change, both people have to work sometimes. I think the key is to give grace in every area, I know people who have special circumstances where the wife works and he doesn’t. It seems to work for them. He seems to still be in control of his house and leads it spiritually.

      This is why I liked this post because it does make you think. Thanks for your input man.

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    February 3, 2011 12:20 pm

    I think for me I think they take it a little out of context. But there is a part that my wife and I agree on. When we have kids, we are going to do everything within our power to make it so she doesn’t have to work. That means I am working on things now, so that in the next year or so when we have a child she won’t have to work.

    But I think there are other circumstances where the woman is smarter than the man and can better provide financially for the family. I know my wife is smarter and makes more money than me right now. I am ok with that, I acutally enjoy it haha! But when it comes time to have kids, we both want her to be at home with them. By no means am I “old school legalist” but I do think it works better.

    Let me throw this out there… do you guys think that people who are raised in “traditional” homes ( mom and dad together and mom staying at home to be a house wife) turn out to be better people than those raised in non- traditional homes? Every person is different I know, but what are your thoughts on that?

    • February 3, 2011 12:37 pm

      Well considering I have such a “reputation” people might suggest my two working parent structure wasn’t that good. haha. (sarcasm)

      Every home situation is different right? Parenting skills are different. Philosophies are child rearing are definitely different. Do a post on spanking and you will get a ton of responses both ways.

      I have heard stories of young adults that couldn’t stand having a parental figure always there because they felt smothered; whereas others really appreciated having that at home. Each had a personality that connected to their feelings on that.

      I would be more interested to seeing how having a child will change you Ben. ūüėČ

  3. February 3, 2011 12:42 pm

    I am a big fan of Mark Driscoll but this is one area I tend to disagree with him on. When I first saw this video I started studying the scripture on this since I’m a work-from-home dad.

    I find that the passage he uses to refute this sort of family situation is talking first about widows who chase after fleshly desires rather than taking care of their family. Secondly it is talking about younger men who are unwilling to take care of widows and their family, including their extended family. And adds that one should especially take care of his immediate family.

    What the scripture does not speak specifically to is dads getting an outside-the-house job. It’s not even talking about having a job in general. The word “provide” means a lot more than getting a job and putting money in your family bank account.

    That said, I do happen to believe that having a mother at home with the kids is generally ideal but not perfect for every family. I believe the 1950’s mindset, however, was extremely detrimental to our families, especially to the young men being raised only by women and hardly ever seeing dad because he was working outside the house so much and largely uninvolved with the child care.

    The Art of Manliness blog has a very good post on this very subject: http://artofmanliness.com/2010/12/13/a-generation-of-men-raised-by-women

  4. Joshua permalink
    February 3, 2011 3:51 pm

    I agree with you, Ben. The ideal situation is to have the mother at home with the children and heading up the home front. I am searching and striving for a way to make that possible in our home. For right now though, I am home with the kids during the day while Jilly is a work. When she comes home, I’m on my way out the door to work myself. While I do feel the kids are well taken care of, it’s a little tough on the marriage. There is a bit of disconnect there, so we are praying and believing for a change. As you said earlier, times DO change. Circumstances are different due to cultural nuances, but if I had my prayer answered today, I would work during the day and have Jilly and the kids to come home to in the evening.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      February 3, 2011 4:37 pm

      Josh thanks for your input bro. In the mean time I am praying God moves on your behalf in the job situation.

Leave a Reply

