Skip to content

Spending Time with God

January 10, 2011

I have been a Christian for the better part of my life. I can remember as a little kid, as attending church every time the doors were open. I remember felt boards, crafts and all the major Bible stories that you learn. None of that makes you a Christian but it does help with you coming to know Christ. At some point, like some of you know already, following Christ becomes your own.

Depending on how you look at it, either Christ saves you or you make the decision to follow Him. At that point you are no longer depending on outside advice when it comes to having a relationship with Jesus Christ.

From that point we begin to strive, work for, hunger for, desire more of Jesus Christ. And yes it’s gonna take some effort on your part. The Holy Spirit will empower you, but you will have to make an effort.

Here is how I make efforts to grow with Christ…

  • Consistently reading my Bible- It’s God’s infallible Word. It’s alive and powerful.
  • Communication with God through prayer- For me, prayer is most effective when I know what I am praying. Praying scripture (in context), being thankful, telling God what is on my heart, and then always stopping to listen. I believe it’s a two way street when it comes to prayer. You can’t yell with a loud voice and tell God what to do… it doesn’t work like that.
  • Times of worship- When I say times of worship I mean times where I am worshiping God because of who He is. It is Christ centered, and focused on glorifying Him. I really try to keep this about Him and not me. If it was about us, it would be called idolatry right?
  • Gathering with Godly men who push me towards Christ- I have a few friends who I meet with every now and again to talk theology, life, work, marriage and so on. Very important to meet with theses guys, they keep my focused and on track.

Thoughts? Have you made a relationship with Christ your own, or do you still think your saved because of friends or family? Leave a thought.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 5:54 pm

    Have you made a relationship with Christ your own, or do you still think your saved because of friends or family?

    I would like more clarification on your thought here. What makes someone saved? Can they lose their salvation or do they think they are saved but really aren’t? Just wondering what you mean by this.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      January 11, 2011 4:44 pm

      My thought behind that statement is I believe and have seen many people think they are saved because they grew up in a Christian household or they think they are saved because they attend church twice a week. None of that stuff saves you, but does help with you understanding how you become saved or is evidence that you love Christ (like church attendance).

      What makes someone saved is God saving them. This is evidenced by you believing in Christ as God, sent to earth to die on the cross. We are saved by grace, through faith. But the key for me is how did you become to have faith? Eph. says that it is a gift of God and not because of anything you did, so that none of us can boast.

      Once you are saved I don’t think you can lose your salvation… or at least of God saves you, you can’t. However if you are of the thinking that you are saved because you decided to choose Christ on your own… well then that scares me because I am a sinner if I don’t have Christ. And why would a sinner choose Christ? Make sense?

      • January 11, 2011 5:01 pm

        Your comment is filled with so many cross arguments. =P So, if you think you are saved….then you might not be. However, God saves you, though it may never be acknowledged because how are you supposed to know if God saves you? If someone thinks they are saved, acts out in faith but doesn’t have fruit, where does that leave them? I am playing devils advocate with you because I think this is where the pre-destined argument falls a little short. (not that the free-will argument is much better)

        I mean if Paul is wrong in saying “confess with your mouth and believe with your heart that Jesus Christ is Lord and you shall be saved.” Then I guess he is wrong to be using active verbs in that case to suggest you have anything to do with your own salvation. Just a thought.

        • Benjamin Davis permalink*
          January 12, 2011 1:13 pm

          I think if you are saved, you will act out in faith, show fruit and so on and so on. That doesn’t mean you won’t sin again.

          I really think the pre-destined argument stands up but that is another post probably.

          As far as Paul saying “confess with your mouth and believe with your heart that Jesus Christ is Lord and you shall be saved.” I think that is good and must happen.
          It’s not that you have nothing to do with it, it is just that God caused it, started it and finishes it. No one said the Bible is against personal response to Christ and personal responsibilities.

          I find that most often people get stuck on this, and if you think hard about it, it really isn’t that hard to get over… at least for me.

Leave a Reply

