Skip to content

Sunday Night Thoughts (First one of the new year!)

January 2, 2011

Just a few things on my mind headed into the first week of the new decade… (did you realize that?)

  • Thankful for a wife who is smarter than me. She loves me well, and I am so grateful for her.
  • I wonder how many pastors this Sunday morning preached their own sermon?  This and this are good reads on this issue that is plaguing the CHURCH (that’s Church with a capital C)
  • There is a way to be opinionated and not be offensive. The problem with this, is that the people or things you have an opinion about often get offended at you, and not what is wrong in their life.
  • I missed church this morning due to a migraine… this has never happened before.
  • Praying for more self control in every area of my life this new year.
  • There needs to be more than one voice of reason in your life. If you only listen to one person, or are only willing to learn from one person you won’t be going any where any time soon.
  • One of my youth leaders said to me this weekend ” We need to teach boys to be men.” I couldn’t agree more! I want my students who are males to grow up into Godly men. Avoid being a “boy who can shave.” (As Mr. Driscoll would say)
  • Leadership roles should be taken more seriously when placing people in them.
  • Don’t use the word Gospel if you don’t know what it is and don’t preach it correctly. Call it something else… like “Wise living.”
  • My goals for 2011 are coming out tomorrow. Looking forward to hearing yours!
7 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica Seachrist permalink
    January 3, 2011 12:44 am

    That’s great Ben. God has been speaking to me about self-control to me for 2011 too! cool Check out Prov 25:28 Through this God showed me that self control is a thing that God gives us by Holy Spirit as a protection. I think we often think of self control as saying “no” to things that we want to do, but know we shouldn’t like it’s a punishment or something. It’s so good for me to remember that it is a way of God protecting me, not denying me of the things I want haha

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      January 3, 2011 7:04 am

      Agreed Jess! Thanks for reading , I hope Toronto was good this past weekend! Let’s hang out soon.

      • Jessica Seachrist permalink
        January 3, 2011 1:15 pm

        Toronto was awesome. I was however in bed with the flu ALL DAY on Friday. I managed to get enough meds in me to make it out of bed for the evening sessions and new year celebration though. Yes-we should hang soon. Have a good day!

  2. Craig permalink
    January 3, 2011 10:22 am

    I’m interested in your definition of the Gospel, since you have been talking about it. I wanted a clear understanding of your thoughts. Thanks.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      January 3, 2011 4:06 pm

      No problem Craig. I will do a blog post on it. Sound good?

      • Craig permalink
        January 4, 2011 10:13 am

        Sounds good. Just wondered what your thoughts were on the subject. I’m not trying to be tricky or anything. Just wanted to understand where you were coming from.

        • Benjamin Davis permalink*
          January 4, 2011 10:38 am

          No problem. I don’t think your up to trickery. It’s good to do definitions anyhow. Look for it tomorrow I think. Pretty sure it will post then.

Leave a Reply

