Skip to content

It’s not ok…

January 2, 2011

Many of you will walk into church this morning, or you already have walked into church and then out… hopefully after the service ended.

Many of us, myself included go into church or our relationship with Christ every day being ok with our sin. The very thing that God saved us from, we are with. Let me explain…

If you are saved, you still sin. Right? If you answer no to that you are a liar and just sinned. My point is that even though we have embarked on a relationship with Christ we still have sin in our lives. The truth is, is that it will be the case until He calls us home. The question is… What are we doing about it?

In the same way that we should never become complacent with our pursuit of Christ, we should never become ok with our sin.

I don’t think we ever “arrive” when it comes to sin. I am not sure if anyone is done dealing with things like lust, pride, anger, and bitterness.

So as you read this today, ask yourself: “Am I ok with the sin in my life?” If your answer is yes, then you are going to have some problems. If the answer is no, then I would say you are on the right track… keep chasing Christ!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 12:59 pm

    Something John MacArthur said really speaks to this subject. He talks about the fact that as you mature in your faith, you will sin less, but you will also hate your remaining sin 100 times more. So it is a neverending battle between your spirit and your flesh. Crazy huh? I think that is 100 percent true though.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      January 3, 2011 7:06 am

      MacArthur is a smart dude. I agree that the battle will always be there bro. Praying we win here on earth, cause I know we win it in the end.

  2. Mollie Lyon permalink
    January 2, 2011 6:58 pm

    I read Matt. 12:36 which lead me to Isaiah 6:5 this morning. That is the sin that seems to be with me constantly- my mouth, my lips, saying idle words and sometimes unclean. We hear them so much anymore. I do try to guard my heart, my ears. I can only do it with the Holy Spirit’s help.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      January 3, 2011 7:02 am

      Can only do it with the Holy Spirits help…. key phrase! I love it, thanks for reading Mollie!

Leave a Reply

