Skip to content

Goals 2010- Did they happen?

December 30, 2010

Last year I wrote out 4 goals that I had for what is now this past year. I was looking back on them tonight and wondering if I made them happen.

  • Learn how to build better teams and community.
  • Improve my communication skills- preaching and presenting.
  • Improve my leadership- getting people to follow and stick with it.
  • Become more balanced- personal health, work and family, solving problems that I don’t need to solve.

This year I am working on a few things that I think need continued work in. I had a teacher in high school who had a quote that said something to the effect of ” Every year a little stronger.” I was looking back because I think it’s healthy to reflect, learn and process what you are doing and how you are doing it. To push forward at a crazy pace and never look back at how you are doing would be idiotic. To live in the past would also be wrong.

So looking back on this year, if you had goals or something of the sort… how did you do? I think I did ok, and I say ok publicly because I am sure there is someone who knows me in person who would disagree.  I would be curious to know what you were working on in 2010. Let me here your thoughts.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    December 30, 2010 9:49 pm

    FYI the goals posted above were 2010’s goals.

  2. January 1, 2011 2:56 am

    I never promote my blog because I don’t care if anyone reads it (it’s mostly for my benefit, to help me develop my writing, organize my thoughts, remember my to-do lists, etc). But I just wrote a post about new years resolutions that was sparked by this post. Might be of some use to you?

    Happy new years!

  3. Steve permalink
    January 2, 2011 8:44 pm

    “Every year a little better, a little stronger.” -Jeff Kellner
    “He who ceases becoming better, ceases to be good.” -Jeff Kellner
    Two fantastic quotes, good job botching the first one. But very appropriate.

    Your goals were very metaphysical. (I think I am using that in the right context.) You can’t really show any physical proof that you accomplished them. But this is not a bad thing!
    They are your goals, so you are the only person who cares if they were really fulfilled. The point of this comment is to say that most people have object-oriented goals, because most people care more about material things rather than intellectual or spiritual goals. That is all!
    Did you post your 2011 goals?

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      January 3, 2011 7:01 am

      Goals for 2011 are coming soon Steve. It’s called a tease to get you to come back in a day to two. Thanks for correcting the quotes. It’s been a while huh? Talk to you soon.

Leave a Reply

