Skip to content

Sunday Night Thoughts

December 12, 2010

This is some what of a staple around here. I encourage you to leave a thought or two at the end. Don’t just sit there and read in the dark, come and join in the conversation.

 

 

I have been given a great life. My wife is faithful and loves me, I couldn’t ask for anything more.

When you have a problem with someone that did something to you personally, it is much better to approach them about it rather than letting a 3rd or 4th party tell the person you are mad at about you being mad. Just some advice.

Not sure if I wrote this or not, but someone told me that Joel Osteen preaches the Gospel… I laughed… inside of course.

I am thankful I feel called to what I do.

No one really follows prideful leadership… it is only a matter of time before people stop following or disengage.

We ought to pay more attention to people who are new to our organizations. Not that they should dictate how we move our organizations but they have tremendous insight to how well we are doing at what we are trying to do.

Ever feel like you were in the dog house and not sure for what? I hate that feeling.

You can not please everyone, and if you try I bet you will kill yourself or everything around you.

God will get glory out of everything on earth.

We are not going back Eden. That is just bad theology.

Been thinking a lot about these questions:

  • What is the book of Acts really about? People see lots of different things in it.
  • Don’t our problems with marriage, money, work, and any other kind of problems have to do with a bigger issue? I think the bigger issue is our soul and where it is spending eternity. So why then do we preach about how to manage money better, have a better marriage or how to deal with annoying people?
  • Should the Gospel offend people? (Vague I know, but hopefully more clarity later)

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 3:39 pm

    Should the Gospel offend people?
    — Man, I am pierced over this… in a good way. Yes & No, but I gotta dig a little deeper. prayerfully soon

    You can not please everyone, and if you try I bet you will kill yourself or everything around you
    — “Someone told me, that when all things to everyone, you are really nothing.” Not sure if that applies, but it does get you thinking. Also, think people misunderstand the 1 Cor. 9:22-23 and therefore use it out of context.

    Don’t our problems with marriage, money, work, and any other kind of problems have to do with a bigger issue? I think the bigger issue is our soul and where it is spending eternity. So why then do we preach about how to manage money better, have a better marriage or how to deal with annoying people?
    — Agree. We should teach these things, but they should not be a major focus – spending several weeks on it. Maybe this should be like a small group type thing then a “Sunday Sermon/Talk”

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      December 14, 2010 9:20 pm

      Cory you have some great thoughts bro! Love that you are reading and communicating with me. Maybe you should write a guest post for me about The Gospel offending people. Let me know what you think. Yes, this is an open invitation.

Leave a Reply

