Skip to content

We All Need Christ

December 10, 2010

I spent yesterday thinking of how I NEED more of Christ Jesus. There were a few factors that played into me spending the day thinking I need more of Christ and asking Him to show Himself in me.

What got me thinking were these three things:

  1. People telling me others need Jesus.
  2. Seeing the blatant disregard that people have for their spiritual lives.
  3. The understanding that I am a sinner saved by God’s amazing grace.

I CAN NOT stand it when someone comes up to me and tells me so and so needs Jesus, while they stand their in their pride, thinking they are better than someone else because they have have made a choice to follow Jesus. If I was honest I always walk away from those little conversations wondering if those people even realize that IF they are themselves saved it’s only because God has been gracious to them. It certainly is not because they have kept their sin hidden for the past 25 years or because they haven’t cheated on their spouse. WE ALL NEED CHRIST. You just as much as the person you think needs Christ.

It breaks my heart to talk to people who just don’t care about the condition of their heart. It kills me to watch a person look me in the eyes after hearing the Gospel explained to them and say “I’m just not ready to give up my selfish living.” I think it hurts because I know, that they know where they are going to spend eternity, and they just don’t care. Sinning and living for themselves is much much easier than God saving them and going through a process of God cleaning us up and making us Holy.

Even though I am secure in my salvation, there is still the very real understanding that it is because of God’s great love for me despite me being a sinner. In the 20 some years that I have been a Christian I have never understood in a more real way that I am lost with out God. I NEED MORE OF CHRIST. If I don’t have Him then I have nothing. No marriage, no job, no life. And this desire for more of Him that I have is humbling because I know it is because of God that I would even think of Him.

That’s all for today. Hope you hear my heart in all of it. Leave a comment if you like.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

