Skip to content

“Creative Types”… Don’t bore us.

December 8, 2010

I would not consider myself a “creative type.” I have in the past come up with creative idea’s and I know when something looks good and looks bad. Creative people I think tend to be drawn to a certain comfort zone. And at first thought that might not be a bad thing. They find a niche where their work is appreciated, liked and thought well of. The problem with that is that, I think when a creative person gets comfortable with what they create, it is very easy to create the same thing over and over again. Let me prove my point…

When I was growing up I took art classes, I was learning to draw. I really loved to learn to draw cartoons, but when it came time to learn to draw pictures that looked more like reality I quickly lost interest. Why? Because I had found my comfort zone. And in the end, I think it killed my career being and artist. (I kid I kid, but you see the point)

When a creative person comes into that comfort zone they tend to do well for a while, but in the end they will die there if they don’t try new things and question the status quo in terms of creativity.

If you’re a “creative type” push yourself to new forms of creativity, lest all your work look the same and bore us.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dibs permalink
    December 8, 2010 2:48 pm

    I think creative people tend to push their ideas outside of the box. They crave change because there is no real comfort zone. I think a creative mind becomes bored with the comfort zone and reaches out to seek something that will continue stimulating their minds. I’m pretty sure I don’t agree with your perspective. Interesting though that you have this perspective.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      December 8, 2010 2:57 pm

      I think we are saying the same thing. I agree with your point, but I think creatives get stuck in a comfort zone.

      See my last sentence:

      “If you’re a “creative type” push yourself to new forms of creativity, lest all your work look the same and bore us.”

      • Dibs permalink
        December 8, 2010 3:34 pm

        I’m saying they don’t get stuck. Ther is no comfort zone. I say the truly creative person naturally moves on because they seek change. Perhaps there is more to the creative individual than is perceived by one/an individual. I think this is a comment based on a limited perspective of the “creatives.” Creativity emerges in many disciplines.
        Interesting

        • Benjamin Davis permalink*
          December 8, 2010 11:40 pm

          Dibs I think I might not be clearly communicating. I think in an attempt to be “more positive” I left out what I really wanted to say.

          The “creative types” who get stuck aren’t really creative. They just have talent maybe in one particular area.

          BTW thanks for commenting! I really appreciate it and glad you are checking in. Feel free to do so more often! Love conversation.

          And if I was to take an educated guess, this is Mike right? From FR?

  2. December 9, 2010 12:02 am

    Alright man, I’m going to do my best and hope my jumbled thoughts make sense. I would consider myself a creative person. I didn’t always think that way though. I cannot speak for anyone else other than myself, but I see both in the things I do, especially with blogging.

    I started out writing little weird/quirky devotionals about the things I see. It could be about anything; an old story, something I saw, or something about my family. After a while, more and more people started to read and give nice compliments. And I’m gonna be honest, I liked it when they said those nice things because I can be insecure.

    But after a while, I got bored. I wanted to do something else that I thought was different and see how far I could take it. One day I had written a prayer out by hand and thought…I bet I could scan and post it. So I did. People liked it so I wanted to do that more.

    But then that got boring for me as well. So I started doing an occasional video trying to do something else different.

    I guess the point is, is that it’s really easy to fall into the niche because we get comfortable or because we are seeking to duplicate the things that made people like us in the first place. But on the other hand I get bored easily. I want to do different things. I know I’m not re-inventing the wheel, but they are new to me.

    I’m sorry I wrote more words in a response than I should have. I just wanted to let you know that I could see both viewpoints. Clear as mud? Cool.

  3. December 9, 2010 1:43 am

    I’ve come to appreciate Seth Godin’s thoughts on creativity, and on people who say they are, or are not creative. My take on his stance, is that we’re all creative, we’ve just let the world convince us we’re not.

    That said, I would think anyone can get stuck in a rut and it’s absolutely necessary to be challenged to get outside your box in order to force creativity to happen.

    Coldplay’s albums are a good example of this. (could be totally off here- no research other than listening to them a whole lot) The first two sound exactly the same. The third seemed like their producers were saying, “More!” and they just didn’t have it in them. To use your blog title, it bored me. (as a whole. They had one or two good tunes) I think I heard after that album, that they thought they were done. Then the forth, Viva la Vida.

    In my opinion, it was the most “creative” album. They got out of that box. Not far, but enough to have met a challenge and beat it. The forth challenged the idea of what a four piece band should sound like. It challenged how many songs should fit in one track on a CD. It challenged the mold that said, “this is what Coldplay sounds like.” And it was wildly successful.

    Interested post. I don’t know if you can generalize this way on a topic so intricate and subjective, but thought provoking nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

