Skip to content

Join a Team

December 2, 2010

I work with some of the most committed people in the world. They show up every week ready to show the love of Christ to our students.

I am always looking to add to the team, whether thats a band member, sound person, small group leader or security. Now I know you might read this and not actually be able to be a part of any of those things because of where you live but I want to know…

  • What do you look for in a team when you join?
  • When adding to a team, what are you looking for?
  • How many people should one leader directly oversee?
  • What is the most important thing for someone to be on your team?

I would love to hear some thoughts on this.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 3:35 pm

    I love working with teams. the best part.
    That is actually my sweet spot as well, creating with a team as opposed to creating alone.

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    December 2, 2010 3:38 pm

    Kyle are you saying that creating teams with teams is sweet? Sounds cool!

    • December 6, 2010 2:57 pm

      kind of confused by what you mean?

      • Benjamin Davis permalink*
        December 6, 2010 4:45 pm

        I think I am asking… Do you enjoy creating teams, with a team of people. So one team making another team. Make better sense? Curious if that is what you are talking about, then I would love to hear how that works and has gone for you.

  3. Jessica Seachrist permalink
    December 2, 2010 8:15 pm

    I’m going to shoot for a comment on point number 3. I don’t think there is a cut and dry number of people that 1 person should oversee, but I think taking a look at the example of Jesus and His disciples is always a good start. I think around 12 is good. I do believe that a leader should have relationship with the people He or she is leading. If there are too many people to oversee directly, it’s time for the leader to raise up another leader to help lead others I think.

    If I were looking for a team member, I’d look for a team player. hehe true though

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      December 2, 2010 10:05 pm

      Great thoughts Jess! I agree, I think 12 is a good number.

      And team players are always good haha!

  4. December 6, 2010 2:07 am

    Good thoughts. Answers to your questions:
    1. Great leadership, vision and people who will stand with you.
    2. This is a tossup. Everyone wants the best people but churches don’t necessarily provide that. (or you may think at that moment) I think people that want to learn and be teachable are pretty important in the long run.
    3. I think a team starts to break down beyond 4-8.
    4. See #2

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      December 6, 2010 4:46 pm

      Word Ben. Good stuff.

Trackbacks

  1. Undercover Pastor | benlemery.com

Leave a Reply

