Skip to content

Sunday Night Rundown

November 28, 2010

Jasper

Being consistent is a good thing right? Here we go! Love to see some comments people!

  • I think I might have a positive outlook on life, but even so, I love my life.
  • I am watching TV right now and just thought to myself…quitters are lame. I am watching The Amazing Race.
  • I have an amazing team that works with our students.
  • People who are committed to a cause show up, even when they don’t have too. People who aren’t only show up when they are obligated or they want to be seen. Thoughts?
  • I will write posts this week on a few confessions, new albums that I have been listening too, and some thoughts I preached last week.
  • Our house is on the market. Please pray it sells quickly.
  • As much as I think planting a church is trendy, I love the idea.
  • If you read this blog to find fault in me, you might need to check yourself? However if you read it because you care about what I am writing because you care about me as a person? Then read on.
  • God sets people apart, He does this because of His great affection for us.
  • My youngest dog Jasper is over- weight… I am a bad parent/dog owner.
  • Is it Xmas yet?
  • If you own an Ipad, has it changed your life? Can it replace a Macbook?

What is on your brain, tell me the most pressing issue in your life and we can pray together about it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 2:19 pm

    People who are committed to a cause show up, even when they don’t have too. People who aren’t only show up when they are obligated or they want to be seen. Thoughts?

    — I totally agree. Been there a several times b4 in ministry where I would have adult leaders/volunteers. Its crazy how people only do things to get the “glory” or be seen. Makes me sick to see people act like that. Something I am learning as a leader – deal with the ones who care and are committed. Give me the committed and willing ones any day. I think its too stressful and a waste of time to pay much attention to those who aren’t committed or willing.

    As much as I think planting a church is trendy, I love the idea.
    – I would agree. I read somewhere about people calling it “a new fad where anyone with some knowledge of God wants to dive in.” not sure I would agree but it does seem like everyone is trying to be a church planter. Its one of those terms, like Gospel, that is miss-used. Planting a church is one of those thing, where if God is not 100% in it and you are not 100% surrender to him it will fail and you will be burnt out.

    God sets people apart, He does this because of His great affection for us.
    – I love this… it is what makes him who he is. It’s literally one of the reason Jesus came.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      November 29, 2010 7:02 pm

      Cory I am with you on the commitment thing. Pay attention to those who are with you and call the others to join, and if they don’t… tell them like it is and why you are not “babying” them.

      As for planting a church, I have heard the same thing and it scared the crap out of me. I don’t want to do something that God is not in. The question is, how do you explain churches that are either not on mission or are totally un-Biblical? Is God not in them? I would answer that He loves us the CHURCH in spite of it’s lack of good leaders. Thoughts on that?

Leave a Reply

