Skip to content

Monday Morning Thoughts

November 15, 2010

The weather in the ‘burgh this morning is dreary. Add to that the Steelers getting trounced by the Pats and it makes for one miserable day here in Pittsburgh.

Not the case for me though, let’s go through a few thoughts to start the week off right, shall we?

  • I think I am done praying about moving. Gonna make some calls this week and try to make it happen.
  • I wish I was a parent, I think it would give me more ground to stand on with my students parents.
  • We had a great movie night with the youth group the other night. Great turn out and anytime we can just hang with students is cool.
  • I have a fear that the word “Gospel” is beginning to be thrown around by those who don’t really understand it. Specifically preachers who talk about the “Gospel” but don’t actually preach it. If my hunch it true, then we are in grave danger. (FYI, I am not talking about my church I work for.)
  • Sears is ruining my life. I bought a brand new washer, it has broken twice in 2 months, and on top of that, they scheduled an appointment to fix it and never told me about it. The one I did know about, so far they have not showed up to. I am trying to keep my anger in check.
  • How far into the future do you plan? Thinking about where you want to be in life… do you plan 1 year, 3 years, 5 years? Curious to hear your thoughts on planning.
  • I have really tried to be more positive in the past year on the blog.
  • When you are a leader or leading something, and you don’t come prepared, prayed up, focused or planned… IT WILL SHOW. Young leaders pay attention to this. Just because you have talent, doesn’t mean you can slack off in practice, planning or focus.
  • I have been feeling the need to take risks lately for God. What risks are you taking for God?

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 1:23 pm

    This is good..

    – I’ve planned before… usually try to planned 9mos -1year out in advance. Sometimes it work out and sometimes it doesn’t. I am trying to be better with my planning and more strategic! I remember 2 years ago setting 1-yr, 3-yr, and 5-yr goals/plans and looking back at them now… I may have did 50% of the 1 & 3-yr plans! Found its better to focus on the 1 year goals and as I complete them, adjust if necessary.

    – I’ve taking some big risk in the past 3 months, but the biggest one was leaving my church of 9 years (5 of which I was Youth Director) that I was comfortable in and obeying God to step out on faith. Was nervous about it at first, but I have complete joy that it was what He wanted and something that was good for myself and the church. This is a process that the Lord has me on and its a BIG step in trusting in him. I still have a good relationship with the pastors and church/youth.

    – I am in agreement with you about the Gospel point…

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      November 17, 2010 10:21 am

      Cory I am sorry it took me a minute to reply.

      Bro what are you doing now that you are not with your church?

      I like your thoughts on planning. Take it a year at a time.
      I have been thinking about some things that would be about 4 years away. I got something being birthed in me, but I am praying for patience. Thanks for your thoughts.

      • November 18, 2010 3:05 pm

        Thanks Ben!

        I’m currently speaking and traveling, to different youth/young adults ministries. Enjoying this journey the Lord has me on.. which is kinda hard as I am used to teaching every week and working with a dedicated team. Also, searching for that right Student Ministry/Church. Big Risk, and an even a Bigger Step of Faith, but he has proven to always be faithful in my life!

        *Someone once told me that God honors the risks we take for him. And that his process is far better than our owns. — Holding true to these statements. *

Leave a Reply

