Skip to content

Are you saved?

November 10, 2010

One of the things that I always try do to while preaching is challenge the idea that a person listening to me speak is saved. Now before you go and fly off the handle and email me something crazy or down right dumb, let me explain what I mean.

On numerous occasions I have just flat out said I doubt whether or not the majority of a crowd is saved. And I say that because of this, most of the people I talk to when asked how do you get into heaven or have a relationship with Christ they say this:

Be a good person, don’t do anything that hurts anyone, and go to church.

All of those things are good but none of them get you a relationship with Christ.

In order to have a relationship with Christ, God must give you faith to believe in Him. He must save you from your sins, and if that has happened then your life will resemble Christ’s. Showing you and others that you are saved. That is a reality. Anything other than that is a concept. Most people have a thought or concept of God, rarely do people know God as a reality. It’s always funny to me when I run into someone who tries to tell me that they are a Christian because they decided to follow Christ. What? My next question is to them, ” Are you a sinner?” And the conversation goes from there… but the point is…

Is Christ a reality to you or is He just a concept? Your heart and actions will prove one of these to be true. I pray He is a reality for you today.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    November 10, 2010 1:07 pm

    I feel like when writing this post, I have an idea in my brain but it isn’t coming out right on paper. I hope you get what I am saying.

  2. Craig permalink
    November 11, 2010 3:38 pm

    I understand what you are saying except for the second to last paragraph. Thats where I have some disagreements. But that is where we will have to disagree with you be reformed.

    I’m off next week and hoping to play some basketball Monday night. I’ll txt you to let you know if I can.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      November 11, 2010 8:29 pm

      I actually don’t think you are far from it Craig. Most people aren’t. Start with we are sinners and go from there. haha

      Call me and we can ride together to basketball.

Leave a Reply

