Skip to content

Society and It’s Morals

October 11, 2010

Over the weekend I was able to get away for a day to fish, pray and think. When I go on these one day get always go with a good friend of mine who is older than me. He is actually a dad of a friend of mine who I grew up with, but over time I have really grown to appreciate his friendship.

When we go, the conversations range from sports, to politics, to friendships, to fishing stories, to work, and to culture and society. This past Saturday we talked about how the world is sinful, we humans do what we want and that over time there are things that society has grown to deem as acceptable. If you think about society, there really are very few things that are morally wrong. Don’t believe me? Just think as I list these words and tell me if you think the view point on all of them has grown to become more and more tolerant and on certain things 100% ok as long as you don’t get caught.

  • Alcohol
  • Drugs
  • Sex
  • Stealing
  • Lying
  • Coveting

I think I could list more, but I was curious, are there things that you have watched become tolerated? I would love to hear your thoughts. Or even, what is even left that society thinks is wrong?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lukeR permalink
    October 12, 2010 11:24 am

    it seems like more and more society is going with a “whatever you do, do it in your own home” I see a lot of “it might be wrong/ or I don’t agree with, but as long as they do it in their own home and away from me I have no problem with it” Everything you listed you can easily see it being glorified in the media day in and day out as acceptable, leaving little for what is wrong.

    Me Personally that I’ve witnessed become more tolerated would be couples living together before marriage. Say you are against couples living together before they get married and you get looks and questions of “are you crazy? nothing wrong with that” from people.

    Divorce is the same way. seems as though it went from almost a shock, sadden feeling when you heard someone getting a divoce to a shrug your shoulders, no second thought about it state of mind. I see more of a “well, if it doesn’t work out we can just get divorced and move on with our lives” passive thinking state. “to have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish; from this day forward until death do us part.” Society seems to have turned those into not really meaning it romantic sayings told on your wedding day.

  2. October 12, 2010 2:27 pm

    I think everyone has a relative compass that says if something is wrong or right. As I have mentored guys who were non-Christians, challenging them about their sex lives and drinking habits, as they became more aware of how these activities were leading them down a path that was not as successful, they started to make changes. The results spoke for themselves and they realized that those activities were not helping them live a better life.

    I don’t know if it is society making them more acceptable than people who understand the boundaries having the balls to lay them out, clear as crystal and then challenging people to live by them. I think you would be surprised at the changes that can happen when you simply try and give people a logistical approach to living their lives.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      October 13, 2010 10:03 am

      Ben I don’t know if I agree with the statement that everyone has a relative right and wrong. Explain that.

      • October 13, 2010 11:59 am

        Sociologists have done studies on tribes that have never encountered outside influences. What they found was these tribes based their laws and regulations under a monotheistic deity. Even without an outside influence to be told what is right or wrong, these tribes instinctively knew things like murder, lying, etc were innately wrong.
        With that said, if we are to believe that we are indeed God’s creation then that relative connection to Him provides us the instincts to feel in our gut if something is right or wrong. However, left unchallenged instincts can be overthrown by justifiable actions which then create new patterns that can lead to a destructive nature because it is based outside of the instinctive pattern originally drawn up by God.
        Make sense?

        • Benjamin Davis permalink*
          October 13, 2010 2:05 pm

          I follow now. Good insight bro.

Leave a Reply

