Skip to content

Doing Youth Ministry…The Wrong Way

October 8, 2010

So I have done youth ministry now for several years. I have done youth ministry really well, and then there have been times where I feel like I suck at what I do. I think if you do ministry for any amount of extended time you are going to go through seasons of good and bad. There have been lots of times where I can look back and see how my philosophy or view on how to do ministry has changed.

Then I think about how I am approaching it now. (Insert sarcastic tone here) I think I might be doing it wrong… you tell me…

  1. I believe that teaching students the whole Gospel is proper teaching, anything less is not the Gospel.
  2. I have quoted R.C. Sproul and St. Augustine and recent weeks.
  3. I encourage them to question what I am teaching them.
  4. I am not afraid to talk about hell and sin.
  5. I don’t teach “be a good person”, aka don’t do sex, drug, and rock and roll.
  6. I do teach love Jesus Christ, He is supremely all satisfying.
  7. At times there is a 5 letter acronym that drives my doctrine. Take a guess.
  8. I believe that small groups are more vital for relationships than discussion.
  9. I don’t believe in “positive peer pressure” , in the end it creates robots that don’t understand what they are doing.
  10. I believe that Theology is a good word and that it should be studied. Those Christians who snub their nose at it, are shallow to me. And I tell my students that.

Thoughts? Any youth pastors out there have any thoughts?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 10:13 am

    All points: Awesome.

    I’m a huge believer that the one thing that could kill youth ministry today is teaching not grounded in the Gospel. It’s the Good News that transformers student’s lives, not funny stories, crazy illustrations, or emotion-stirring music. You’re spot on here Ben.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      October 8, 2010 6:36 pm

      Glad you agree bro. Do you lean a little reformed?

  2. October 9, 2010 7:02 pm

    I lean a lot reformed haha. Not like hyper-calvanist, but I try to stray away from extreme arminianism and dispensationalism.

  3. October 11, 2010 10:33 pm

    totally agree with your points. some points that sparks are points # 1, 3, 4, 6…

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      October 11, 2010 10:41 pm

      Thanks Cory. Love that we see eye to eye on things.

  4. October 16, 2010 12:41 pm

    Great post man. Agree on all points.

    Too many youth groups focus completely on the attractional methods of doing youth ministry. But the problem is that many of these kids are leaving youth group no more discipled than when they went in!

Leave a Reply

