Skip to content

Is Your Voice Heard?

September 17, 2010

In the past 8 weeks I have met a total of 8 people from the internet and surprisingly I am still alive. It’s not all perverts and rapist out there people. The internet has the ability to take a large world and shrink it, making everyone neighbors. Most of these people have something to say. It seems like everyday I get some social-media guru following me on Twitter. Apparently it’s obvious that because they have 50,000 plus followers they are an expert.

Here’s the thing. You and everyone plus their crazy uncle is on the internet shouting something. The question is: “Is your voice being heard?” Every one of those people that I met from  the internet are saying something, you are saying something and I am saying something. But if we are not saying it correctly or to the right people it’s just a bunch of noise bouncing off the walls.

About a year ago I had the chance to sit and talk with an author who I follow fairly closely. He gave me advice on numerous topics but the one thing that he said that I keep coming back to is this…

KNOW YOUR AUDIENCE.

If you don’t know your audience then you are just yelling at the abyss. Get to know your audience if you want to be heard, both on the internet and in real life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

