Skip to content

Older is Better

September 8, 2010

A number of years ago I went through a phase where I thought that if something wasn’t new or up to date it was lame. But more and more I am realizing that new and innovative is not always the best. Let me explain…

When it comes to technology I am all for the newest gadget (even though I can’t afford it), but when it comes to what I do in the construction field, most of the time the tools that work the best have stood the test of time. The same goes for music, I love new stuff but I always seem to find myself going back to what I cut my teeth on. I think you get the point.

When it comes to theology and leadership I have tried “new,” but what I have found is that going with what has been historical is usually better. When it comes to theology you are better to stick with what history has proven true. Venture outside those lines and you might end up on a big stage, but in the end you will be a heretic. Leadership is no different. Sure there always new ways of leading, but at the core of all quality leaders is not the newest leadership book. No, at the core of good leaders is the ability to love people and influence them to change.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 11:06 am

    So really we should return to Catholicism because that is older? =P

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      September 9, 2010 7:41 pm

      No, but at least back to the reformation haha!

      • September 9, 2010 7:42 pm

        Well that would refute Calvinism. Lutherans can’t stand that doctrine. ūüėČ

Leave a Reply

