Skip to content

Teaching the Nature of God

August 20, 2010

The more I listen to people and their view points of God, the more and more I am convinced that there is a general lack of understanding of who God is. For example…

The other day I was talking with a man who thought that god gave him a girlfriend because he had put two months of good behavior together.

What?

I know others, and I myself have treated God like a sugar daddy, where we only run to him when we need things. Still there are others that think God is waiting to ruin their life for living the way they do. I have actually heard people say that “they are waiting to get theirs. (referring to God’s wrath)”

Over and over again we could come up with ways that people see God, that would be incorrect, or at the very least could use some major improvement right?

So my questions are this:

  1. Am I the only person who sees this?
  2. And what are we doing about it as pastors and church leaders?

Let me start my saying I know I am not the only person who sees this. And I can only play my part in doing something about this problem. In every message I have preached for the past year there have been two key truths that I have taught:

  1. Christ’s redemptive work on the cross
  2. God is sovereign in everything (yes I use the word sovereign)

It does not matter what we are talking about on  any given Wednesday night, God’s nature and story are always central. We must get back to teaching the nature of God.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica Seachrist permalink
    August 20, 2010 9:41 am

    There is a line in a David Crowder Band song that says “Life makes it so hard sometimes to know what’s real.” We have to realize that we have an enemy who is trying to steal revelation of who God is in our lives through certain circumstances. But in every circumstance, as God’s children we are victorious and have the opportunity to grasp a revelation of who God is and to understand Him that much more.

    But the cool thing is, is that many times, God does reveal himself through certain circumstances in our lives. I can look back and see many marks of God’s goodness, provision, love, peace etc. in my life. One thing I know for sure is that God is always good even if my circumstances say otherwise, He loves me even if I don’t feel loved, He’s with me even if I feel alone.

    I don’t want to let my circumstances dictate to me who God is, I want who God is to dictate the circumstances in my life.

  2. August 21, 2010 5:52 pm

    You know what I am sick of? I am sick of hearing a lot of preacher give a message and have none of the message contain any teaching on Christ, what he did on the cross, and what any of that really means. That’s why I am happy you bought 50 Reasons Jesus Came to Die. Awesome stuff. Whatever happened to preaching Christ and him crucified? I’m probably going to get a lot of people that disagree with this statement, but I feel that the people that preach Christ-less messages are probably living Christ-less lives.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      August 21, 2010 8:13 pm

      That statement sounds harsh, and unkind… but sometime I think the same way. I have run into people who are leading Christless lives. Our job is not to tear down though, but to gently correct.

      Thanks for reading Chris.

      • August 21, 2010 10:00 pm

        Yeah I hear what you are saying. I definitely want to gently correct, but it is very difficult to straddle that line. Go one way a little too much and its harsh and mean, go a little too much the other way and you become a coward. I know a lot of people would rather error on the side of being a coward, but God says in Revelation that cowards won’t see heaven. Because we are still sinners we will inevitably fall on one side or the other. I just have to keep praying for more grace for myself, as well as more grace to give to others.

  3. August 23, 2010 12:06 pm

    I totally agree with your sentiment Ben but I also agree with @toeequipthesaints, there seems to be a disparity in what is being taught from the pulpit. If you aren’t preaching serious messages from the pulpit, then you can’t expect your congregation to take things like sovereignty and the cross seriously.

    This is where focused small groups and mentoring are heavily needed also. It is there where you can enter into dialogue and hear where people are at. In those avenues, you are able to hear people and lead them from there.

    Maybe that person has a wrong idea of how he got his girlfriend because noone has taken the time to 1. Listen to him and 2. Challenge him in a loving way to lead him back to truth. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

