Skip to content

Young Adults and Leaving the Church (Part 2)

August 2, 2010

Leaving the church

Last week I wrote a post that started to talk about why young adults seem to be leaving the Church. I quoted a pastor in my denomination saying that young adults are leaving in at a amazing rate. And in that post I asked two questions.

  1. Why are young adults  leaving the Faith/ Church?
  2. Why do we try to give people what THEY think is good for them?

So I would like to tackle the first question, why are they leaving? And is there anything we can do to stop it? Should we stop it? And anything else you guys ask…

I am not an expert, nor do I have stats in my hands right now, so this is just a humble opinion, but I believe that young adults are leaving the Church in large numbers because of two reasons.

The first reason I see young adults leaving the Church is that they are sinners. Now before you jump on me, let me explain. I believe that we are all DEPRAVED. (Look it up) It means that we are morally corrupt. So naturally young adults are going to want to go and do their “own thing.” Its a fact that as we get older we retain more freedom. Give a human freedom and they are going to do their own thing. At the end of this reason, young adults are going to leave because they are going to leave.

The second reason I see young adults leaving the Church is a combination of two things based on one truth. The truth being the Gospel, and the two things being misunderstanding and poor/horrible teaching.

From what I have listened to and read, the Gospel is not being preached to teens, which then turn into young adults, that then leave the Church. Most of what is taught to teens is “don’t drink, smoke, have sex, and listen to hard rock.”Basically we tell teens to live morally and everything will be ok. Just be smart. We have taken the Gospel and reduced it to self-help. Shame on us. What do we expect them to do? If they don’t understand the Gospel, if they don’t know the work of Christ on the cross then of course they are gonna leave!

WE HAVE GOT TO GET BACK TO TEACHING THE GOSPEL TO OUR TEENS AND YOUNG ADULTS! IF WE DON”T WE WILL LOSE A GENERATION TO MORAL PEOPLE THAT ARE GOING TO HELL THINKING THEY ARE NOT!

Combine this fact with a general lack of understanding from young adults and teens from their end, we get them leaving the Church.

How do we stop this? Should we try to stop bad teaching on a large scale? Or just correct it where we can? Thoughts?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. kim permalink
    August 2, 2010 8:53 pm

    I agree with the own thing comment. If it isn’t the exact way they want to hear it they turn away. We all have the same bible…if you have a personal relationship with Jesus…He will make a way to relate to the Gospel to you in every arena…..

  2. Craig permalink
    August 3, 2010 10:52 am

    I got to say I think this is one of your better posts. Not that I’m an expert and not that you haven’t written good posts before, but this one really hit some good points.

    Young adults are choosing to sin. So many of them have bought into the lies of the world and want to satisfy their own desires. I don’t say that with pride, or with thinking I’m better, cause I’m young adult age, well maybe a few years removed. But it all comes from your second point.

    They are not hearing the Gospel from early ages. And that is a shame. They don’t just need told to not do this or that. They need to understand what God says and that He created us and gave us a way to live that would bring great joy to us if we obey.

    Here’s another thought… What about the style young people are raised in and then the style they find in the “adult servce?” When I went to my first General Council and sat in the senior pastor services, it was a culture shock. I was used to loud music, excitement, people giving their all to God, etc. (Keep in mind that I’m a very demonstrative worshiper) Now I find myself with people standing around in great suits, singing great songs that worship God, but it is much quieter and serene. I didn’t know what to say. Yes, I worshiped God but it was way different than I was used to. It’s like as young people you are taught to worship God one way but as you grow up you should grow out of that way of worship and step in to “adult worship.” I think that can bring confusion and frustration to young adults. What do you think?

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      August 3, 2010 7:11 pm

      Agreed. I think that in for “younger” aged ministries we need to get back to teaching the nature of God, Christ and the Holy Spirit.

      That way no matter what the style is, we have consistent growth across the board. Children and youth ministries are often just taught to be smart and wise, be moral and you’ll be ok.

      Teaching the nature of God right from the start is what I think would be best. Lots of times the focus gets lost in younger ministries if that makes sense?

  3. August 9, 2010 9:42 am

    Have you talked to any young adults about this? What did they say?

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      August 10, 2010 11:34 am

      I guess technically “not.” but I myself am a young adult and have many friends that are too.

      Why do you ask your question? Do you think differently?

      • August 10, 2010 3:49 pm

        Honestly, I don’t really have enough info to wager an educated guess. I’m just curious because I see stats/opinions, etc. about this stuff, but I’ve never seen a legitimate q and q or poll with young adults. I assume that would be hard to put together but it would be interesting. If you know of anything please let me know. Definitely curious.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Young Adults and Leaving the Church (Part 2) « -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

