Skip to content

Projection of a Ministry

July 29, 2010

I am not someone who is willing to go out on a limb and say that there are churches that God is not doing anything in … aka dead churches, but I think we can take a look at the fruit that a church produces and is going to produce. So let’s talk…

The Church, by God’s design (read the N.T. ) was meant to be God’s tool for advancing the Kingdom of God. Churches are meant to impact cities, local communities, and the people who live there. The problem is, is that not every church is reaching their communities, their local area or their local people.

So I am sure that this might spark some conversation, but how do you know whether you are in or are joining a church that is doing what the Bible says to do? How can you figure out the projection of the ministry?

Here are some thoughts I had on how to tell the projection of a ministry…

  1. Look at its leadership. Are they Godly? Do they keep secrets? Have they been involved in any scandals?
  2. What has been the track record over the years with the church or its leader? If it has done nothing but lose people, then you put two and two together.
  3. Do they have a plan to help grow people spiritually, both for long time Christians and brand new Christians. If they don’t then there will be trouble. It’s BIBLICAL TO HAVE A PLAN.
  4. Has their been growth recently? What I mean is, would someone look at the church and think, from the outside, that it is growing? If an outsider can’t see it, then the people inside might be fooled into thinking it has potential.
  5. What is the ministry known for in the community? If its got a good vibe and the public says good things, that is great. If the people look at it and think its a cult, then we have a problem.

Lots more to say here, but I will stop and listen to your thoughts. Ready. Set. Go!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Craig permalink
    July 29, 2010 9:32 am

    Interesting post Ben. I only have a disagreement in point #5. I am part of a great church that has gotten great feedback from the public on what we have done in our community, only to turn around and get negative feedback from others in the same public.

    We’ve been called a cult for the simple reason that people would come in one way, have a life altering encounter with God, and leave a new creation. Only to have their friends tell them that we brain washed them. But we haven’t brainwashed anybody. They were impacted by the Gospel and chose a new lifestyle. Some have faced this persecution and have quit coming here. Some have faced persecution from their families with parents telling them that they would have rather had them buy a case of beer than a Bible.

    Now since our battle is not against flesh and blood, anytime a church starts doing great things, Satan is going to raise up persecution against the move of God. We must continue to pray and do what God has called us to do, which is seeing lives changed by the life changing Gospel.

    Just thought I’d add some other thoughts for #5. Let me know what you think.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      July 30, 2010 10:23 am

      Craig I remember you telling me something like this before. I think the key is here, is that lives are being changed by the Gospel. I know and you know that people are gonna talk, say things that aren’t true, and basically be idiots. I think most of those people are on the fringe.

      I think what I would be more specifically talk about is the Church being know for things that don’t belong to the church. Things like howling, barking and rolling on the ground like mad people are things that are going to make people say that a church is a cult.

      In fact anything that is not Christ centered could be called a cult. What do you think about that?

  2. July 30, 2010 10:39 am

    Interesting thoughts here.

    #4 could be taken with a grain of salt, in my opinion.
    I have seen moments in various churches, where the population has dropped, but due to a sort of “weeding” out experience seemingly by the Lord, which was followed eventually by a growth first in the spiritual depth of the remaining members/leaders, and then ultimately by the actual numbers of the congregation.

    I think the greatest key in the situation of joining a church family is to pray and pray hard about the decision. I view it much like choosing a spouse, in the sense that joining a church is like forming a family–and you don’t just “get out” at the first sign of trouble. You stick with it, pray through it, etc. So you want to know you have made the right decision from the word “go”. If you hear the voice of the Lord, the best choice would be to seek Him out.

    Good thoughts, Ben.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      July 30, 2010 11:30 am

      Joy! Nice to hear from you again! I agree with your point about churches go through a “weeding” period, so that some may grow deeper. I totally think that Churches should concentrate on helping people grow deeper before they grow numerically. If that doesn’t happen you have a bunch of babies running around spiritually.

      As for picking a Church, I agree that prayer is a vital vital thing. I love that you used a marriage analogy. I would be willing to bet that you looked at your husband and decided whether or not that his projection was good or bad without praying. At least at some point, am I right?

      I think we should be looking for the direction of where the church is headed. And realize that it doesn’t have to be perfect at this moment.

      • July 30, 2010 2:20 pm

        Yes, I looked at him, and his projection was VERY good. 😉 Good point.

        • Benjamin Davis permalink*
          July 30, 2010 4:32 pm

          HAHA btw, I did the same thing to my wife/ slash I was just happy she said yes! haha

  3. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    August 2, 2010 4:17 pm

    I would also point you all to this post that Tony Mogan posted last month about declining churches.

    http://tonymorganlive.com/2010/07/15/church-in-decline/

    • August 2, 2010 5:34 pm

      just read it. very interesting, the five attributes. sending it on to my husband.

Leave a Reply

