Skip to content

Pastors in Small Groups

July 23, 2010

I have read about pastors being in small groups. I hear them speak about them, push them, encourage their people to join one, but it has been a rare thing for me to see a pastor actively in one first hand. And if I can be completely honest… I have been one of those pastors. I have encouraged, pushed and suggested people to join a small group but unless I was leading one for students I never really have been a  part of one.

This past Monday night we started a Bible Study. (Yes, people still like to read the Bible…not just books by Beth Moore or other trendy writers) I was a little apprehensive about it at first. I really didn’t want to go, I really wanted to loaf around the house and watch Last Comic Standing. But after leaving on Monday night I knew that I had made the right choice. If I am going to encourage my students to love their small group then I had better get in one and love it!

Without a group of people growing around you, spiritual life gets hard. No man was meant to be alone on this journey. And pastors especially need people around them who are pushing them to grow.

What are your thoughts? Are you a pastor? Are you in a small group? Or are you like me and watch pastors just “make it happen” and never participate in the small group community?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

