Skip to content

Two Traps People Fall Into

July 5, 2010

So this past Sunday I preached about being redeemed by God through Jesus Christ and His work on the cross. I started out by explaining that if you look at Romans 1 it’s going to tell you that we are all sinners and that knowing that fact we need to be redeemed. I then went on to explain that God in His perfect timing has redeemed those who He has chosen.

Normally when I walk away from preaching I know there is something that I wanted to say, but just never got to because of the sake of time or I just forgot. On Sunday I walked away with the feeling that I had left everything out there. Then as I had sometime to spend thinking about it there were a few things I said but didn’t get much time to talk about. They are two traps as I see it…

The first trap is that, often people use the excuse of “You don’t know what I have done, God can not forgive me.” They think that God can’t forgive or that they will never be “good” enough to make it into heaven. Let’s me honest, I know there are people who really struggle with understanding that Jesus loves them. But at the very core of the statement “God can’t save me, I have done too much!” is pride. It’s prideful to think that God is not big enough to pull you out of the stuff you are in. At the end if that argument is a person who really just does not want to change, and wants to stay in their selfish living. That’s the first trap: Thinking that God can’t save you.

The second trap is for those who have been a Christian for a while and have put together a string of days, months and years of moral living. They go from day to day thinking that they are”good” and that their good behavior somehow is a substitute for God’s redeeming power. Listen: Your “good” behavior will not get you into heaven. Don’t fall into the trap of thinking that you are good and forgetting that you are redeemed. The fact is even good people need redeemed and should acknowledge that God has saved them.

Two traps that will entangle you and then pull you away from God. What are your thoughts?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 9:03 pm

    great post Ben.

  2. Lauren permalink
    July 5, 2010 9:22 pm

    good post and good sermon sunday.

  3. Sam rolewicz permalink
    July 5, 2010 11:02 pm

    This is a really good post. I think the first trap you talk about sounds a lot like my non Christian family members. They support my beliefs but they look at it as something that is good for only myself because they want me to be a good person; not as something that all people desprately need for redemption. They hear me do my best to preach to them but take it in as something only i can experience because im so young and ”innocent”, even though i have had my faults. I think people blind themselves to Jesus because they think they aren’t good enough, not understanding that thats the whole point; we ALL need Him BECAUSE we are nowhere near good enough. So as you said they fall into a trap and throw chains upon themselves instead of realizing how great God really is. Its pretty sad actually. But i do think this is one of your better posts. Good job : )

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      July 6, 2010 9:34 am

      Thanks Sam! Thanks for the encouragement and it makes me happy to know you are understanding the Gospel! Keep lovin’ on your family, God is gonna do something great there!

Leave a Reply

