Skip to content

7.5 Things I Have Learned About Blogging

June 30, 2010
tags:

I have been blogging for almost two years straight. I have had great days, filled with hits and comments. Then I have had seasons with no hits (literally) and no comments. Here are a few things I have learned from blogging:

  1. Write, write, write! If you don’t write, they won’t read.
  2. Be honest, be yourself. Their are enough “big name” bloggers out there. I am not one of them and neither are you…probably.
  3. Create community. Yes, I used the buzz word, but for some people online community is all they have. Make sure you let people comment and get a threaded commenting system up and running. I made the mistake of not having one for almost a year and a half… ouch.
  4. Don’t check stats everyday. I used to be addicted. We all want our 15 minutes of fame. But living and dying on whether or not people are reading is stupid.
  5. Say things that you don’t see anyone else saying. I don’t want to repeat someone else, and I don’t want to read what someone else already said.
  6. Link to stuff.
  7. Try to refrain from being ticked off when people hate on what you are doing. Retaliating can never be a good idea, plus chances are they either hate their lives or know what you are saying is true.

.5 Don’t selfishly promote yourself too much, it always ends…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 5:21 pm

    All good pieces of advice. I would add…”don’t think your way is the right way.” I’m guilty of this far too often. Everyone has a different opinion of how we should interact with social media and not everyone can be right.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 30, 2010 5:28 pm

      Yeah I agree. I am guilty just as much. I got to point out that I am guessing you clicked on the link from twitter right? Because it was from a auto tweet service it made me laugh, because you are against them. haha Am I right?

      • July 1, 2010 7:25 pm

        No, google reader. but I did see that you auto tweeted 😉

        • Benjamin Davis permalink*
          July 2, 2010 8:08 am

          Ha! Well I guess I was wrong : ) thanks for having me in your reader, that’s an honor. I think you know you’re in mine

  2. Ben permalink
    June 30, 2010 5:28 pm

    I am tired of the self-promoters. Honestly, I don’t even think they know they do it. It is shameless, fleshy and sinful. Hmmm…maybe that’s why I don’t blog anymore.

    Anyway, I guess that is why I am not blogging and others are super successful.

    You’re a good blogger Ben, just like Tyler, that’s why I follow and appreciate what you both say.

    Keep it real.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 30, 2010 5:29 pm

      word. Bring that guest post soon. Like next week son.

  3. June 30, 2010 5:30 pm

    I’d add, be prepared to be humbled. Lol.

    • June 30, 2010 5:43 pm

      I’m a big fan of this addition…good to remember for myself. 🙂

      • Benjamin Davis permalink*
        June 30, 2010 5:58 pm

        Humbling is a tough thing to learn

Leave a Reply

