Skip to content

Jesus is for both “good” and “bad” people…

June 29, 2010

So often people classify people as “good” or “bad.” I have people come up to me and tell me to pray for so and so because “they need Jesus” or “those kids need Jesus.” Now I know alot of people have good intentions and great hearts for the lost, but most of the time when someone comes to me and says something like that, it is said with a pride or arrogance that says “I am better because I am good.”

I will admit that I have in the past put people into “good” and “bad” categories… but if we are to look at our lives in a Biblical way, we will find that after the fall in Genesis 3 we are all sinners. The relationship between human and God was severed at that moment and without Christ we are all “bad” people.

How easy it is to forget that even though you may have put together a string of months or even years of moral behavior, that fact does not make you good. The only thing that makes us “good” or declared right in God’s eyes is faith in Christ His Son! Oh and by the way, He gives you that faith lest anyone should try to boast!

You need Jesus… yes you.

Quit telling me “they” need Jesus.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 10:11 am

    good post man. I especially like the last part about faith being a gift. I have heard a lot of people say exactly what you have said. I have heard a lot of genuine believers tho who say similar things who at the same time know they are dirt without Christ. We can’t judge everyones hearts or motives but I know what you’re saying.

  2. Craig permalink
    June 29, 2010 11:13 am

    What do you think we should say? Just wondering. I know that I have said someone needs Jesus, not to put them down because we all need Jesus, but to state simply that they are searching for something and not finding what they are looking for. When in reality, I have the answer to what they are looking for. They need Jesus. I don’t want to say it in an I’m better than you kind of way. So what do you propose as a better way of asking people to pray for a person who needs Jesus to open their eyes?

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 29, 2010 12:27 pm

      Craig, I honestly believe its a heart issue. What is in your heart will come out for sure. Yes people are “bad” and need Christ, but saying that in a way that is kind gentle and most importantly from a heart that understands what Christ did for you.

      I think where people come off as arrogant and prideful is when they forget that God saved them and that without Christ they would be dirt.

      Does that make sense?

      • Craig permalink
        June 29, 2010 1:54 pm

        I understand what you are saying. There are people who pull those words out to make it sound like they are better than others. Yet that is a heart issue as well. I believe that sometimes people can have the right heart in the beginning when they say those words but then can turn it into an “I am better than you” attitude when people reject their Gospel witness. A pride thing.

        Remembering who we were is important in presenting the Gospel in love and letting people know that they need Jesus. It also keeps you humble and should remind you that Jesus can touch anyone because He has touched you. We are not an elitest club.

        Oh, and I’ve been playing some ball at the Y and outside but nothing concrete. There is a 3 on 3 that Flander’s is trying to do this Saturday at 10:00am. You pay $5 and your name gets put in a hat. Then teams are drawn randomly out of the hat. Txt or tweet me if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

