Skip to content

Monday Mind Pass

June 28, 2010

I don’t really care if you like these or not. If you like them, they are for you and me…if you don’t like them… go to another blog..seriously. It won’t hurt my feelings.

My wife is wonderful. She walks with me even when I am crabby. Last week I was for sure. She’s great!

Looking forward to preaching on July 4th! Talking about redemption. I am so pumped.

After I preach I am going to watch some fireworks somewhere. Where are you watching them?

In Velocity on Wednesday nights we have been working our way through the book of James. So good, and very practical.

To be honest… sometimes I am not sure what qualifies people to be pastors. Is it schooling? Is it calling? Is it Man’s approval? Let me know your thoughts.

My Ipod crashed. Um I need help. It is beating me.

Someone gave me some Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds Live at Radio City. WOW, so good!

I also bought Carlos Whittaker ‘s cd called Ragamuffin Soul … I am not one to buy into the hype so I waited to buy it. Um.. Believe the Hype, it is really really good.

I enjoy watching people change jobs.

I am not a fan of fake people. But that doesn’t mean I tell them. Is that wrong… or is that mature? Beats me.

Christians need to remember that God is in control. We forget that WAY to often. Agree or disagree?

Matt Chandler is my favorite preacher. (That I don’t know) Who is yours?

Is there anything you would like to know about me?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    June 28, 2010 11:31 am

    perhaps i cld get a listen to both those cds? that wld be great, thanks.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 28, 2010 11:29 pm

      Lauren let’s hang out.

  2. June 28, 2010 12:49 pm

    In regards to qualifications of pastors:

    I would say the qualification is God’s calling. According to Ephesians 4:11, Christ’s gift to the church was pastors and teachers, apostles, and prophets – to equip the people to do ministry to build up the Body of Christ.

    That said, I believe God also uses people to confirm His call. That is to say: I don’t believe any person can tell you that you are called by God to be a pastor, but I believe God uses others to confirm what He has already told you. So in that sense, the approval of man can be used of God.

    Finally, schooling doesn’t qualify, but it prepares. This does not necessarily mean schooling in an educational institution (the Apostles didn’t have teaching certificates or degrees from a Bible college). If you are called to lead, however, you have a responsibility to those God places “under” you. One that should not be taken lightly. So in that aspect, whatever the governing body may be that “licenses” or “ordains” you, has the responsibility to validate your preparation, whatever it may be.

    So to sum up:
    God’s call = Qualification
    Man’s approval = Validation
    Schooling = Preparation

    Just my thoughts.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 28, 2010 1:13 pm

      Mike well said. I agree totally. Thanks for reading bro

  3. June 28, 2010 12:58 pm

    Matt Chandler is an awesome guy. I think my favorite though is still John Piper. That kinda goes without saying though. lol

  4. Craig permalink
    June 28, 2010 6:29 pm

    Mike, those are great thoughts. Couldn’t agree more. Don’t think I can add anything else to that. Though I will say, if you don’t know that God has called you, when people come against you thinking that you are not called (and they will), it always comes down to the foundation of knowing that God has called you, no matter what man might say.

    And Ben, I enjoy reading your Monday mind dumps. Keep dumping your mind on Mondays.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 28, 2010 10:58 pm

      Craig! Thanks for the thoughts! When we playing ball?

  5. June 28, 2010 7:43 pm

    Just wanted to say that I enjoy reading your “Monday mind dumps” and they have inspired me to attempt to do the same thing. Thank you.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 28, 2010 10:58 pm

      Great man! You should write more!

      • June 28, 2010 11:14 pm

        Since we’re all admitting love for the mind dump, I must confess, I completely ripped off the idea the other day on my blog. Not as a weekly installation, but basically to fill some space. So thanks for the inspiration. Credit where credit is due.

        • Benjamin Davis permalink*
          June 28, 2010 11:30 pm

          Bro we all rip off someone else. Take the credit haha, and yes, its a great way to fill time and space…and it gets your mind working for the week!

          There is a blog post in that somewhere.

  6. June 30, 2010 10:21 pm

    So I clicked on the “leave a comment” box to talk about what makes someone qualified to be a pastor. But Mr. Mike Yusko, beat me to it.

    SO…. I also enjoy watching people change jobs. I think it is because of how excited they really are to be changing jobs.

    I don’t know about telling fake people that they are fake. I feel like they know it already? And if they act like they don’t know, they are probly faking it(What a terrible pun, but it’s true.).

    God is always in control and I think christians do forget it sometimes. Myself included.

    And one thing I would like to know is, Why do you act like you are a soccer fan? When was the last time you played? POSER.

    PS- D Train.

Leave a Reply

