Skip to content

Dealt a bad deal…

June 3, 2010

So many of the students that I work with have caught a bad deal in life. They haven’t been dealt the best of cards so to speak and so they fight the uphill battle of getting themselves in the mess that they are in.

There are always two sides to a coin, but many of these students come from homes where dad isn’t around and mommy just doesn’t care that much. No one deserves to have to raise their own siblings, no one deserves to not have anyone tell them they are are loved, no one deserves to have no food on the table because someone smoked or drank away the food money. Living like this or growing up like this will make a person do one of two things: One, they will do what needs to be done to get out, or two, they will become a product of their environment. Becoming what it is they hated about their childhood.

I can’t fix every students problems. Heck, I can’t even show them that there are people on earth who don’t have cable, let alone running water. Its hard to show them that at times life just isn’t that bad. But  I can show them that someone cares.

I believe that years from now, one of the biggest things that is going to have an impact on these students lives is the fact that as their pastor, leader, and friend we are being faithful to show them that we care.

Jesus is the ultimate example of how a person is faithful, I want to follow in His foot steps. He ultimately showed He cared by making a way for us to have a relationship with Him through His work on the cross.

Because Jesus was faithful to His mission, I want to be faithful to the one He has given me. I love my students, I care about their well being… that is why I am faithful to them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    June 3, 2010 10:38 pm

    You were right, this post was pretty legit. I’ll def add you to my list of Pittsburgh blogs, haha! But seriously, I did.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 3, 2010 10:41 pm

      good I am honored, let me know if I can help. I hope this post explained what we talked about last night

Leave a Reply

