Skip to content

Sunday Night Thoughts

May 30, 2010

Let do this! At the end you can give me your thoughts…

  • My wife makes me a better Christian.
  • My advice to you if you are not married is to just get on with it. Pick someone and make it happen.
  • Been listening to Delta Blues this week. Makes me want to move south… not happening though.
  • The World Cup is coming… Are you ready?
  • I live a blessed life. Fortunate enough to be able to make payments on a car. Traded in the Subaru for a Honda.
  • People want to hear scripture preached. And they want to hear it in a way that is understandable. As pastors we have to bridge the gap of keeping true to the Word and not becoming inspirational speakers.
  • I am pumped to start a Series on James this week at youth group!
  • Having an Iphone changes your life.
  • I heart asparagus. Yes I do love it.
  • I am looking forward to going on a bike ride in the morning with my wife.
  • Sharing ministry is something that will help you be effective. Do it.
  • Praying John 6:36- 40 over my students.
  • If you could have one item that costs over $500 what would you get?
4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2010 9:18 am

    Having an iPhone does change your life. I’m in love with mine. Can’t say I agree with your marriage advice though!

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      May 31, 2010 12:20 pm

      I know the advice on marriage sounds harsh but my point is people never get married because they think the deserve some sort of god or something. Truth is people are getting married older and older because they are selfish.

      Btw I know there are many arguements that I would agree with on this point, I just needed to say it.

  2. deana permalink
    June 1, 2010 5:14 pm

    ok, i’ll play:

    *My wife makes me a better Christian.
    I thought God did that through His Holy Spirit? according to your recent positions re: the gospel being enough, Him giving us grace, nothing of ourselves, etc.

    * My advice to you if you are not married is to just get on with it. Pick someone and make it happen.
    1st, not everyone should be married. 2nd, selfishness isn’t THE reason people wait to get married. one reason may be unreasonable expectations, but others include: prolonged schooling, cohabitation has become more acceptable, devaluing the importance of commitment, a lack of maturity & independent living. 3rd you should not compromise your [reasonable] standards for the sake of time

    * Been listening to Delta Blues this week. Makes me want to move south… not happening though.
    you always give good music tips. danke.

    * The World Cup is coming… Are you ready?
    N/A

    * I live a blessed life. Fortunate enough to be able to make payments on a car. Traded in the Subaru for a Honda.
    I ‘upgraded’ to a honda a few years ago. hoping it runs for 200K miles!

    * People want to hear scripture preached. And they want to hear it in a way that is understandable. As pastors we have to bridge the gap of keeping true to the Word and not becoming inspirational speakers.
    like the distinction b/n these two roles

    * I am pumped to start a Series on James this week at youth group!

    * Having an Iphone changes your life.
    A-freaking-MEN

    * I heart asparagus. Yes I do love it.
    agree. [see we can agree on some things, ben. haha]

    * I am looking forward to going on a bike ride in the morning with my wife.
    i am looking forward to getting my bike rack out of my back seat

    * Sharing ministry is something that will help you be effective. Do it.
    agree [i sense an upward trend here]

    * Praying John 6:36- 40 over my students.

    * If you could have one item that costs over $500 what would you get?
    so many indulgences….ipad, flat screen tv, but probably a laptop, maybe even a [gulp] mac

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 1, 2010 7:55 pm

      Deana,

      I know there are legit reasons for not getting married. Maybe I should have said that, you make great points.

      My wife makes me a better Christian by helping with the Holy Spirits sanctification process. Reminds me that life is not about me.

      Enjoy the Delta Blues, but don’t live there. Thanks for the compliment on music.

      Not sure what you mean about the “upward trend” comment. I will post about that soon.

      Buy a Mac, it will change your life. I heard it has saving power haha wink wink!

Leave a Reply

