Skip to content

Whats comin out ya mouth!

May 27, 2010

My mother would always quote Luke 6:45 to us growing up when we spouted off.

The good person out of the good treasure of his heart produces good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure produces evil, for out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.

I hated hearing that when I was younger. I would always argue with her that it wasn’t true, even though I knew you really couldn’t argue with the Bible. I tried but I knew that I would never win that argument. I should have just kept my mouth shut, it may have saved me a lot of deserved punishment.

Now being an adult I see that when Jesus said that, His statement would always prove to be true. So lately I have been thinking of it when it comes to my theology.

What I believe is going to come out of my mouth. What you believe is going to come out of your mouth. Whether its right or wrong, the things that come out of our mouths are a direct reflection of what is in our hearts. This is why it is extremely important to know what you believe and make sure what you believe is Biblical and true.

I watched two big name pastors the other day answer the same question. After both answered, the one basically said that they thought it was basically a semantics issue. But I think you could tell that they were just being polite.

The word semantics really covers a lot of miss communication, but in the end does it really?

Your theology is going to come out in the words you speak. You are going to give glory to something and you will know what you are giving glory to by what is coming out of your mouth.

Make sure your theology is right… because people can hear you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 11:05 am

    I agree and then somewhat shrug my shoulders. I think it matters what you are talking about in regards to what theological argument you are attempting to make. We need to know where we stand firmly on some absolute truth arguments but when it comes to other things, it is kinda like, “well I don’t know why you are seeing it that way but I don’t think you are a heretic.”

    But you are right, we do need to know what we believe and have the ability to state it clearly.

Leave a Reply

