Skip to content

Keys to Forgiving

May 22, 2010

From time to time I will struggle with forgiveness… mostly giving forgiveness to others. It never feels good to be hurt, or to be mistreated, but as I get older I realize that not forgiving the person who is doing the hurting hurts just as much. So when it comes to forgiveness I think we know that we should forgive and move on. I think that if you were honest you would say that forgiving is much easier said than done. I think that for some sick and twisted reason humans like to hold onto past hurts. Maybe we have learned to live with the bitterness and its just “easier” to not go through the process of forgiving? I don’t know.

Like I said I struggle with this issue from time to time, I just thought I would give you a few thoughts that help me with forgiving someone:

  • Forgiveness is a skill. Its learned. No one is born with the talent of forgiving.
  • Remember that you are not perfect. Lots of times bitterness stems out of pride.
  • If possible, stay away from or avoid contact with the person or organization that hurt you.
  • Get in God’s word. Discover that God forgives us as sinners, so then we must turn around and do the same.
  • Pray.
  • Get some accountability. Ask someone to call you out when you are going through a time of unforgiveness. My wife does this for me.

What do you do that helps?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shelby permalink
    May 22, 2010 8:20 pm

    I think that human like to hold on to past hurts because maybe its the only thing left that they have of that person that hurt them. Or it’s that one thing that helps them remember that person and they don’t wanna let that go.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      May 22, 2010 11:12 pm

      Thats interesting Shelby. I think I see what you are saying. But why hold onto someone who hurt you? I am not advocating dropping family or something like that but help me understand.

Leave a Reply

