Skip to content

Given Grace

May 20, 2010

I think about my youth kids constantly. I spent numerous hours every week asking God to draw them and asking God to ignite a love for Him in their hearts. I do this, over and over and over and over again. I think I tend to go in small waves of encouragement and discouragement when it comes to my job as a youth pastor. I love to see students loving Jesus, but I try not to get to high on that, because for every one student doing well, I know there are numerous others who are struggling with any number of things.

There are two things that blow my mind about God and his nature. The first is, God doesn’t make mistakes. He doesn’t show up after a disaster or tragic moment and fix things. He is always there. Nothing surprises Him. The second thing that makes me amazed at God is that He has given the world common grace. Common grace is a theological term to explain that God hasn’t brought justice to us all yet. It means all people enjoy the air, nature and God’s glory through out the earth.

Sometimes I think students have a hard time understanding these types of things. One because they ask the question “Why does God let bad stuff happen?” And two, they are too blind to see that they are blessed with wonderful lives based on common grace alone.

Of course sharing the Gospel with my students is primary, I always want to press them with these facts.

God isn’t messing up your life, He is actually in control of it.

You might not see it now, but you have been blessed by God to be where you are. Even if its just common grace that He has given you.

*This post was inspired my one of my students.*

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 11:03 am

    I and my husband are also youth pastors, so I can completely related to so many of the things you mentioned here!!!

    “God isn’t messing up your life, He is actually in control of it.” — a very good word for young people.

    • May 20, 2010 11:03 am

      …a very good word for anyone, really.

      • Benjamin Davis permalink*
        May 20, 2010 10:21 pm

        Joy I am glad you could relate! Thanks for reading. Where are you and your husband located?

  2. May 20, 2010 6:10 pm

    ugh, so good!!! trust me bro… God will bless you for this. One of the best things we can do as youth pastors/leaders. Prayer will be the key for the movement in this young generation…

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      May 20, 2010 11:13 pm

      Corey! Long time bro! love your heart for prayer! Thanks for stopping by

Leave a Reply

