Skip to content

Keane- Greatest Band Ever

May 15, 2010

I love music. I am sure you do too. We all have answered the question of “what is your favorite band?” or “Name your top 5 bands.”

I don’t know if I have ever said this before on the blog, but here it is: Keane is my favorite band… of all time.

They just came out with a new album called  Night Train which I just picked up. I am very excited to hear this new project.

If you are looking for some new music and have never check Keane out then you should!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Jesse Holeczy permalink
    May 15, 2010 6:53 pm

    It’s nearly impossible to pick just one, but if I had to, I’d maybe have to say Bruce Springsteen.

  2. May 15, 2010 7:33 pm

    Wow, I don’t think I have ever ever heard anyone say there favorite band is Keane. I mean u have your taste, but I was surprised.

    I have to class this up… U2 is by far the best band ever. And then Radiohead. Which Keane was directly influenced by both of them.

  3. @realpb permalink
    May 15, 2010 8:16 pm

    my favorite band of all time is Wilco.

    then my top 5 is rounded out by:
    The Police
    U2
    Radiohead
    Kings of Leon

  4. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    May 15, 2010 9:02 pm

    Jesse I know what you mean. I don’t know if the Boss makes it in my top 5

  5. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    May 15, 2010 9:03 pm

    Paul, I like Wilco too, I can’t say that I know very much about them. I have two of their albums, both of which I like.

    I love the rest of your top 5, but I don’t know how Kings of Leon make it in, have they been around long enough? I would love to hear your thoughts on that.

  6. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    May 15, 2010 9:05 pm

    Kyle U2 is great! Love them, but I just think Keane beat them out for good this week. I need some Radiohead in my life

  7. May 15, 2010 9:12 pm

    I know this will not be liked by the “cool” christians who worship Bono but I don’t find the appeal on U2. They are just meh to me, but then again, I know my view on this is not extremely popular in these circles. 🙂

  8. May 15, 2010 9:18 pm

    hmmm….tough to narrow it down to one. U2 may go down as the best, according to the masses.

    But I’ll go with Coldplay. Sure, they’re influenced by U2, but I like their songs better. And, I don’t know if I’ve ever heard a U2 song that is better than “Fix You.” just sayin’…. 🙂

  9. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    May 15, 2010 9:25 pm

    Rand, all opinions are welcome. No one said they had to be popular. : ) Thanks for reading bro. What would be your fav?

  10. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    May 15, 2010 9:25 pm

    Josh I knew it was only a matter of time before someone dropped a Coldplay suggestion! Great band. In my top 5 for sure.

  11. May 15, 2010 11:52 pm

    top 5 bands

    1. U2 -modern day beatles. Gotta say it. Without them no coldplay

    2. Hillsong United – changed worship music…could say they are the nirvana of worship music. If wasn’t for them wed still be singing open the eyes of my heart…blah

    3. Mutemath – most amazing live show.

    4. The Beatles – it all comes back to the beatles

    5. Common – love his flow love his fashion

    keane is a brilliant band. Love how each album is different.

    The boss is the boss.

    I can write sooo many bands I love music. But that’s what I’m feelin right now. And best describes me.

  12. May 16, 2010 1:17 am

    My all time favorites…
    Queen
    Guns N’ Roses
    Aerosmith

    Kings of Leon because even though they are new, they are awesome.

  13. @realpb permalink
    May 16, 2010 5:44 pm

    yay, another vote for Kings of Leon!
    Ben, they’re not that new… they’ve been at it for around 10 years or so and have put out a bunch of albums (5 or so?) and none of them have been duds IMO.
    the thing that makes them legit to me is that stylistically they have a great mix of old and new (well, maybe mostly old – but they definitely have an original & fresh sound) and they’ve got enough musical depth to keep them from being a flash in the pan (i’m talking to you Mute Math, Muse, Arcade Fire, etc). The way history (gutbucket blues, old time gospel, etc.) seep into their modern arrangements is amazing. Also, lyrically they are crazy. Most young bands can’t touch them lyrically. I think they’ll end up being important in the big picture of things. I know they haven’t been as widely accepted in the US, but they have been pretty huge in the UK and Australia for a good while now.

    oh, also… as much as i hate to admit it… Bruce. you might make my top 10. especially your early stuff. despite Clarence.

  14. @realpb permalink
    May 16, 2010 5:50 pm

    hey Rand, i know what you mean about U2.
    sometimes i think they are so… i don’t know… i just want to roll my eyes.
    but then i listen to “Yahweh” or “Bad” or “40” from their early days and my soul just wants to cry out (and/or worship).
    also, the Edge… as much as i hate the fact he plays like 25 guitars on 26 songs… (douche move anyone?)… he created one of the most unique and recognizable guitar sounds ever. legend. period.

  15. @realpb permalink
    May 16, 2010 5:51 pm

    oh hey Ben,
    one more thought.
    how come you don’t turn on threaded commenting?
    just wondering. peace, brother.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      May 16, 2010 9:08 pm

      Just did Paul, I didn’t know WordPress.COM had that feature. BTW when are you redoing this blog?

  16. May 16, 2010 9:57 pm

    Yay for threaded commenting! Haha KOL!!!

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      May 16, 2010 10:08 pm

      So I really can’t tell the difference? Do you all get a notice or something?

      • @realpb permalink
        May 16, 2010 10:31 pm

        u get a notice if you check the box when commenting.
        But mostly it’s so commenters can comment on other commenters’ comments.
        (say that 3 times fast 😉
        threaded comments FTW!

Leave a Reply

