Skip to content

Back Row Back Sliders

May 6, 2010

Backrow Backsliders

When I was in youth group I once heard a speaker call students who sat in the back row, “backsliders.” Now the only reason I knew what those kind of people were was because every Sunday afternoon my Pap Pap would normally refer to someone as a “backslider” in a negative tone, so I figured those people couldn’t be good. I think we all know that the “backsliders” would be the “bad” people. But keep reading…

As I grew up it was very easy for me to fall into the trap of labeling people as good people and bad people. It was especially easy to do in church. I will be honest and say that in the past 6 years I have been really careful not to label people like I did when I was younger.

I was talking with another  pastor the other day and they said something to the effect of “all my good people won’t be there tonight” referring to their next service. Now I know they know better, and it was probably just a slip of the tongue, but the fact remains that it is very easy to fall into the trap of labeling people good or bad.

To fix that problem we need to see that all have fallen short and are in need of being redeemed.

Romans 3:22-24

For there is no distinction: 23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, 24 and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus

Does it get any simpler?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Caleb Ashton permalink
    May 6, 2010 5:15 pm

    Where did that term backslider even come from? I’m pretty sure its not in Scripture.

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    May 6, 2010 9:35 pm

    I have no idea. I have never seen it : )

Leave a Reply

