Skip to content

He Created It, Now Take One…

April 21, 2010

In the book of Genesis chapter 2 God finishes creating the world and everything in it and decides to rest.

2 And x on the seventh day God finished his work that he had done, and he rested on the seventh day from all his work that he had done. 3 So God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it God rested from all his work that he had done in creation.

I admit that I love to run, run, run. Whether its doing work for myself, working for my church or doing recreational things I love to be busy. And I can do it for months on end. But I think God has a way of correcting my sin.

Last night, out of no where I got really sick. Um, lets just say I had a hard time moving around and the other stuff you don’t want to know about. But through all that I realized that it has been a while since I stopped and … stopped.

God has set it up in the creative order of the world for us to stop and take a break. He built it into our very being that we need rest. No matter how much we like to run, work and play, we are always going to need a break.

So when was the last time you stopped doing? When was the last time you took a rest? Remember that God put it in the world for us to use. Use a Sabbath.


One Comment leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    April 22, 2010 9:49 am

    good word bird.

Leave a Reply

