Skip to content

Simple Bible Study

March 29, 2010

Two weeks ago in Velocity (our youth group) we started a Bible study on Sunday afternoons. It happens right after church. We gather around a table, open our Bibles and go through a chapter of the Bible. It isn’t trendy, it isn’t visually stimulating, and it is far from being on the “cutting edge.”

I hope you can understand this when I say, we are simply studying the Bible. As in, we aren’t reading a book and calling it Bible study. There isn’t a curriculum from someone famous that we are following. we actually took the time and wrote our own study guide. And we didn’t copy and paste from another document to come up with ours.

I say all that to say I love to study the Bible. I love when I see others doing it. Yes, only one student came this past Sunday, but all the effort is worth teaching one student. The Word of God changes people. Teaching a younger person how to study the Bible will set them up to grow in their faith for years to come.

If for some reason your love for the Bible is lacking then I would ask you to consider asking yourself a few questions…

  • What sin am I committing that is blocking my love for the Word?
  • Am I really setting time aside for His Word?
  • Do I know how to study the Bible?
  • Do I have a Bible reading plan?
  • Is someone holding me accountable to read?

Go love the Word.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 2:17 pm

    Go Ben! This is a GREAT THING! I want to encourage you to continue this – I believe that one student will be multiplied. God bless you Ben, this is a great idea. 🙂

  2. March 30, 2010 11:39 pm

    That sounds like a great thing!

Leave a Reply

