Skip to content

Off my chest

March 8, 2010

Ok so I am not sure how many of you care what is on my mind, and that is ok. From time to time I write a post that is random thoughts from this past week. So here goes…

My wife is wonderful. I wish I could love her better… So I try.

A church that is not Gospel centered is not a church.

Church is done correctly when Christ is glorified.

I about to drop something on you…

REFORMED THEOLOGY IS BETTER

Our youth group is doing well. I love my students. I love that they ask questions.

I feel good about how I have preached, but at the same time I am humbled that God would let me preach.

I bought the new 30 Seconds to Mars cd… wow, very good.

Should I get a tattoo?

People that worry about their age are goofy. My wife always says she appreciates birthdays because she looks at it as becoming wiser.

Lying is the worst. People that lie make me sick.

Working for myself is slow. Call me, I will fix your house.

I am amazed that God is reconciling everything back to Him. WOW.

Even of the Bible preaches pre- destination, it doesn’t take personal responsibility off the list of things to do.

Not asking questions in life is… you fill in the blank.

My boss, Pastor Russ and Jamie are wonderful to work for!

We lost our first game of the season, bummer… oh well, get them next time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    March 8, 2010 5:45 am

    I also bought the 30 Seconds to Mars Cd, very good…(we should have consulted, haha) and yes to the tattoo and YES to Reformed Theology is WAY better.

    It wasn’t on there, but no to ‘Mustache March.’

  2. March 8, 2010 3:43 pm

    I third the ’30 Seconds to Mars CD’ and the motion passes.

    Not asking questions in life is… dumb. If you’re not asking, you’re not thinking.

    About the Tattoo thing: Only if you can live with it for the rest of your natural existence.

    Sometimes people lie, because they don’t know what the truth is. They think they are telling the truth. *shrug*

    I’m not exactly certain that I know what Reformed Theology is. Is it basically the teachings of Calvin? I tried really hard to read a lot of Theology and Philosophy, and I didn’t understand great big chunks of it – so then I just decided that I’d just read the Bible and pray. It seemed like the cheesy easy way out, but every time I read the Bible I learn new stuff – exactly when I need to learn it. Not trying to be flippant, this is the truth.

    Maybe I should try to expand my universe more though – honestly who would you recommend me reading? I’ll warn you however my two favorite Theologians are Aquinus (Not a Calvanist by a long shot) and Kant – but his stuff is even harder to read than Aquinus. Should I read Calvin?

  3. March 8, 2010 3:44 pm

    Now that I’ve done a bit of research, I may have been unintentionally ironic in the above post. heh.

  4. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    March 8, 2010 6:12 pm

    Lauren glad you agree on all points minus the mustache. Did my wife talk you into saying that?

  5. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    March 8, 2010 6:21 pm

    CindyK! How are you! I love that we like the same music, I have to tell you that not only are you one of the smartest Mellon Heads that I know, but also one of the coolest.

    I am not sure if all Reformed theology is Calvin Cindy, and I can’t say that I have read anything on the man. But the preachers I listen and read on a weekly basis claim to be reformed, and I like the way they preach the Bible. And that is just it, they preach the Bible and God glorified.

    I think I will write a post on it some time soon. BTW I would watch who you say your theologians that you follow are. People are not huge on Calvin in the circles we are involved in.

  6. Lauren permalink
    March 8, 2010 6:43 pm

    Ben no she did not, soof! Maybe it’s a sign from God not to do it?! I’m just saying..

  7. dlrayman permalink
    March 8, 2010 7:32 pm

    Ben,

    I like the random thoughts that you post. They always make me think and usually resonate with some of what I am thinking in my own life.

    CindyK and Ben…read John Calvin. Start with the “Institutes of Christian Religion.” Not only is it good theology, but it is highly readable and understandable. What is more is that while you might not agree with everything Calvin says, you will find that this man was just honestly attempting to understand the Scriptures and he found no greater joy in life than pursuing God through the understanding of who he has revealed himself as in his Word. I think that is something we all, Calvinist and Arminian alike can agree on and strive to live out.

  8. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    March 8, 2010 9:02 pm

    Don I will try to pick that up! Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

