Skip to content

Let Them Ask

March 3, 2010

Growing up in church I was never encouraged to ask questions about faith, and what I was being taught. It was always do this, and don’t do that. Believe that this is true and we will like you, don’t believe it and we will frown on you. And there has always been something inside of me that has enjoyed asking questions.

This past Wednesday at Velocity (our youth group) I gave the students permission to ask questions and asked them to not just take my sermons as truth, but to actually dig deeper once they left and discover things for themselves. I know that this might be unconventional or maybe even dangerous, but I felt like it was only right.

As a pastor who is preaching the truth of God’s word and the Gospel story I should have no problem with people asking questions. I want my students to believe what I am teaching, but I also want them to figure it out for themselves.

I just wanted to say that since we gave the students permission to ask questions we have had some great conversations in the past week. We can see God drawing students to His Son and it makes us sooo thrilled to be a part of what God is doing at Velocity!

Have you given your students or people in your life permission to ask questions about what you are teaching or anything else?

I would love your thoughts guys!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bryan Pugner permalink
    March 3, 2010 10:19 pm

    Encouraging people to ask question is far from dangerous – it is biblical. This is what the Bereans were praised for doing – studying everything that was taught for themselves. Anything less would be leaning toward being a cult. Good job Ben!

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    March 7, 2010 3:31 am

    Thanks Bryan! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

