Skip to content

Going after it

February 12, 2010

As I have worked with students over the past 8 years (btw I am not an expert) there is something that I have found to be common with every group of students. Every student wants to be challenged to go after something.

Whether it’s in sports, academics or spiritual things they all want to be encouraged to go after it. I know with some students it might take some time or a peeling back of the layers, but down deep they want to know that you believe in them.

Over the past few months I have noticed this in my youth group. For some students it just took off, others it is taking a little time. But one thing is for sure, they need to know that you believe in them and that they can get what they are going after.

When it comes to spiritual things there is the prayer factor that is added into the simple part of believing in them. It is one thing to let a student know that you want them to mature into what God is calling them to (a relationship with Christ) it is another to explain how you believe this is going to take place.

For specific students this needs to happen differently, but to the entire group I always try to remember to tell them that we love them, and that we are praying that God would draw them to Him. Letting them know that you plead with God to save them I believe goes a long way in a student’s life.

What are you going after? How would you encourage students to go for “it?”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2010 5:47 pm

    Love it…

    I think also there is apart of them that must have a genuine passion for Jesus… If the passion is not there, then no matter what we do as leader/pastors, parents, teachers or friends — soon enough it all will fade away.

    What I try to do as a leader and speaker is cultivate the passion inside of them by getting them involved in worship, prayer and even teaching… All it takes is a little spark that could ignite them to really go after God. I like your last part – loving and praying for them is so good. It encourages them and give them that extra push.

    God has been changing my focus and vision for youth ministry and life… I have been focusing on 3 main scriptures; all pursuing God. Song of Solomon 5:1-8, Luke 10:38-42, Luke 2:36-38…

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    February 14, 2010 2:03 am

    Yeah I agree Cory, they have to own it themselves in the end.

    I would be interested in how you have your students involved in the three big area’s. (prayer, worship, teaching.)

  3. February 17, 2010 2:00 am

    Every year in January/February, I allow the students to teach Wednesday night Service. Our youth participate in worship in the youth ministry and in “big” church.

    I am a big believer in corporate prayer with the youth. I give them the freedom to pray and do devotional worship. Last year we did weekly prayer services on Tuesday nights during the summer months… starting at about 7pm lasting til about 10pm or 11pm.

    I have a very good friend, student leader and future worship leader – who helps write on my blog. He’s only 17.. haha, love how Jesus works it out.

    Also, every year we as a youth ministry participate in a week fast before our 2 big conferences.

    hope that helps.. blessings!

Leave a Reply

