Skip to content

They are getting it

February 8, 2010

Every Wednesday night I leave the church with my mind racing. Thinking of things that should have gone better, how we can improve the student’s experience, and was the Word preached?

I recently got a email from a student that broke me down. I sat and cried in my office for a half hour, thanking God that He was working and drawing students to Him. I asked if I could share it, they said go ahead. Below is the email in unedited form. I hope you can see God moving…

Okay so you know how your always blogging about your life and thoughts and Jesus and stuff like that? Well i felt like writing and ive never written about Jesus really but i kinda liked my end result and i think you’ll like it so here it is and tell me what you think… Mostly it feels like I just pray to Jesus to ask Him to help me or do things for me. And looking at it, thats not what He’s all about. I mean sure He loves us all and wants and loves to help us, but only praying to Jesus when you want something isn’t having a real relationship with Him. its like saying you have a relationship with your bank, because they keep your money safe, and you go there often, and they’ll give you a loan if you need one. Or that you have a relationship with your car company because they’ll take care of your damages if you wreck, and they have accident forgiveness. Well, JESUS IS NOT INSURANCE. He is our Savior, and way more important than many people give Him credit for.
Just because you pray to Him for things to go right or help, doesn’t mean you have a real relationship with Him, which is also very important. It seems to me (at least with the people i know) that if someone has a legitimate relationship with Jesus, than they are happier no matter what their struggles are. That’s because there is an everlasting warmth in their hearts that grows stronger with every beat, and it can only be warmed by the Lord Himself. So i hope that in this coming year, im gonna better my relationship with Jesus, so i can feel that warmth that i think i’ve really been looking for.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 10:18 pm

    awesome.

  2. Caleb Ashton permalink
    February 9, 2010 4:38 am

    Dude. Thanks for sharing this.

  3. February 9, 2010 2:42 pm

    Ben WOW! God bless that student!!! How wonderful that they wanted to write down their feelings, and how great of you to post it for them.

    They have taken the step into a mature relationship with our Lord and Father. This is wonderful, and all the heavens are rejoicing! Our God is singing and dancing over this, for sure!

  4. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    February 10, 2010 2:26 am

    CindyK Mark and Caleb thanks for reading I hope it encouraged you. It was for me.

  5. Chris Arnold permalink
    February 10, 2010 4:13 am

    Wow totally awesome. Ditto with Caleb, thanks for sharing this. I have a big disagreement with CindyK though. I wish people didn’t see these types of things as “mature relationships with the Lord.” When someone starts to passionately long for Jesus and His glory, some seem to be saying that these people are mature in their faith. I disagree. I don’t believe it to be a mature relationship with Jesus, I believe it to be an ACTUAL relationship with Jesus. I don’t believe that a mediocre or lukewarm relationship with the Lord is a saving relationship. I believe that kind of relationship is not a real relationship at all (Revelation 3:16; Matthew 7:16-27). We have to be pleading with the Lord to send His life-giving breath down upon dead sinners and give true repentance and faith to more and more of His chosen people. God’s chosen people seek to be fully satisfied in Christ and image-forth Him and all His glory throughout every part of their life and every place they go. We have to be battling this mentality that we can call upon Christ as Lord to save us from hell but not to be uppermost in our affections and desires. That is part of what it means to be Born Again! Awesome stuff Ben. So excited to be apart of this ministry.

  6. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    February 10, 2010 5:20 pm

    Chris I see your point about it being an actual relationship with Christ.

    I would be interested to see what you view as a mature relationship with Christ looks like though. Maybe you should guest post sometime!

  7. Chris Arnold permalink
    February 11, 2010 3:58 am

    I will have to do that sometime. 🙂 As a little teaser I would have to say a more and more mature believer would look more and more like a person who acknowledges a greater depth of their own depravity outside of Christ, which in turn creates a deeper repentance and a more joyful gratitude for the Lord’s sovereign act of showing us evil sinners grace. I’d say it would look almost crazy. So deeply disgusted by the flesh that still holds us captive to some degree of worldly admiration, yet in that disgust, never being in despair, for we have the hope and joy in Christ that tells us how much He is made more glorious because of saving such people. He chose the weak to shame the strong. I am weak and foolish. He chose me. How awesome is our savior!?! Praise God!

  8. Laura permalink
    February 23, 2010 11:29 am

    I have no other words right now than…WOW.

  9. Roger permalink
    February 23, 2010 4:21 pm

    It really is awesome to read this and know that at least what you (and we) are doing and saying is getting through. My sincere hope and prayer is that more of the kids will begin feeling this way and really want to grow in their relationship with Christ. This really gave me a boost because sometimes I just really feel like I am doing nothing, like I am talking to no one, like I am not making any difference at all. I don’t mean to make it sound like I am doing this for myself, I know the preceding statements seem that way, but it can be frustrating. I pray to God and often wonder to myself what I could be doing better, what am I doing wrong, why can’t I get through to them? Sometimes it seems like we spend the whole night asking kids to be quiet or focus or to stay in the room, like we are just baby sitting for 2 hours. I do have to say, though, that the nights I just don’t feel at all like being there are the nights that I can feel God moving and working the most, in the kids AND in me. Something like that e-mail is very encouraging. I long for the day when all the kids feel that way! God is good!

Leave a Reply

