Skip to content

Today and other musings

February 1, 2010

As is my habit, I thought I would drop you guys a few lines. Here is a list on what’s on my mind, feel free to comment, or tell me what is on your mind…

I love my wife! She is absolutely perfect. No you can’t have her so don’t ask, if you do I might punch you. : )

Sometimes it’s better to remain single rather than date someone who really is not a mature man or woman.

Communication is a tricky thing when dealing with church projects that have to do with construction. I am navigating this subject right now as we move into a new building.

BTW I am pumped about the future of our church! I think God set it up for my wife and I to get in at the right time.

My friend Nick is going to Haiti… maybe you would consider helping him out? Email him here.

The more I do youth ministry here at Sharpsburg Family Worship Center, the more I realize students don’t really need fluff, they need the gospel. As I look at youth ministries, I think that might be a novel idea.

I think my one dog might need to do a little more exercising… I think his excuse is, is that it’s cold outside.

I follow certain people on Twitter just amuse myself… do you?

My friend Caleb Ashton has nothing for me to link to on the web, but I wanted to say thank you for all the help he has provided with leading worship at Velocity Student Ministries.

Now you can ask me anything anytime right here http://www.formspring.me/iambendavis check it out!

You should put this blog in a reader. If you use a reader you can do that here.

Your theology will come out in your words… what’s coming out of your mouth?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 12:19 am

    Thanks for the shout out Ben!!

  2. February 1, 2010 8:47 am

    Like that last one.

  3. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    February 1, 2010 1:39 pm

    Tyler I am hoping to write a post on this this week. I will let you know when it comes out! Thanks bro.

  4. Shelbbb permalink
    February 1, 2010 11:22 pm

    I disagree and agree with that third point. I know you tried so hard to explain it to me and help me understand on sunday, but i still think differently. When you date in high school, well for most people, it’s just for the fun of it. It’s not like i think to myself, i’m gonna marry him. It’s just the fact of having that person to hang out with and say “Yeah, that’s him.” It’s like having a friend but on a different level. He’s that one person that always makes you feel good about yourself. Even though you probably think he’s just a pervert and only thinking about something different. Yeah, most guys i know are like that. But there are alot that aren’t like that. Because if they really care about you and love you then they will respect you . I also kinda agree because if it’s a relationship that is getting too serious, and say your just a freshman in high school. Then yeah that’s not such a good thing cause chances are your gonna get your heart broken in the end. But no matter what your gonna get your heart broken in the end of it. If it’s serious or not. Because obviously if you care about someone and then you decide it’s “over” which in most cases means that your “done” with one another. Then that’s gonna hurt in someway. I dunno. It’s kinda hard to explain.

  5. Shelbbb permalink
    February 2, 2010 12:43 am

    The “you” in that sentence is referring to you, Ben Davis.

    “Even though you probably think…………different”

  6. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    February 2, 2010 4:44 am

    Shelbb! Nice to see you commenting on the blog.

    I understand what you are saying. In high school its probally impossible to find a “mature man or woman.” And I understand that it’s more about a person who is your friend that makes you feel special or good about yourself.

    Let me just say that you are right, not all guys are pervs. But looking back, I wish someone with a little more experiance would have told me that it is more important to know who I am in Christ and understand that HE (meaning God) is the one that makes me special.

    I guess I just wanted you to know my heart in the statement. I would rather see you or someone else be single if it meant you were closer to Christ and avoided the heart ache.

    Does that make sense?

  7. Shelbbb permalink
    February 2, 2010 2:05 pm

    Yeah I understand, and are you trying to say that it seems like I’m not as close to Christ because of that certain person? And I guess your right, staying single would help avoid a lot of arguments and conflicts between people. High school relationships cause a lot of drama I guess. But then again, that’s the fun of it.

  8. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    February 2, 2010 5:55 pm

    haha Shelbb, I am not saying that you are farther from God because of who you are dating.

    Thanks for commenting girl, glad to know what is on your mind.

Leave a Reply

