Skip to content

Learning to admit it…

January 27, 2010

Have you ever run into someone who is always right? We all know that person. Sometimes I think people think I am that person. And there is probably some truth in that.

Most often when someone thinks they are always right it stems out of a sense of pride. They think that they are better than someone else or better than something else. And because we are all born with a selfish nature it is easy to think we are better than everyone else.

But the world is full of people who think they are right. What we need are people who can admit that they are wrong, even when they thought they are right. I tend to think this way…

I have a hard time respecting someone who thinks they are always right. I mean, if you can’t get two thoughts in then why would you have a conversation with someone like that. The person who thinks they are always right is really hard to follow in terms of leadership. There is nothing fun about working for that person, mainly because your opinion to them is “uneducated” and “not valid.”

However on the other hand, I can very easily respect someone who might be right most of the time, but knows how to admit when they mess up. It shows me that in the end they are humble. They care more about a cause, or project than their own personal self esteem.

For the past 8 years I have tried hard (and my wife has helped me too) to become more of a person who can admit when they are wrong. The older I get, the more I know I still have so much to learn. And hopefully I keep improving in this area.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

