Skip to content

Going over and above

January 26, 2010

Everyone loves a person who goes over and above their job description. I mean how can you hate on that person?

I love it when someone on my team goes over and above what I expected them to do.

And I think there are two kinds of people who go over and above what they are asked.

1. The person driven by personal success, and people thinking well of them. They tend to work hard to get the job done not because its their job, but because for them personally anything else would be failure. Their standards for themselves are very high and tend to over work themselves. At times neglecting their family and friends for the sake of success on a project.

2. The person who gets it. They see the need, the grab the vision and run! You only have to ask them to do something once, because they feel the heart beat of the project. The cause of them going over and above the initial call is the fact that they have become passionate about the vision.

Both of these have their downsides. Both have their upsides.

What type pf person would you want to work for? What type of person do you want working for you?

Thoughts? Let’s hear them.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 5:30 pm

    I love to work for the person who gets it. Their enthusiasm and passion are contagious. I think you’ll end up having both types who work for you. How you manage them is really what makes the difference.

  2. January 26, 2010 5:37 pm

    I struggle with this because I often want to do things myself, but want to work for someone who paints the vision and then lets go of the freedom and lets you run with things.
    I know for myself I am working on being a team player and not a team manager. Letting go of control is important, mainly because we are using each others talents that God has given us to move forward.

  3. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    January 27, 2010 1:47 pm

    Brett I agree I think it’s easier to work for the person who gets it.

    Kyle being a team play is a tough thing to do bro. Glad to hear your working on it. I love your openness and honesty about it. Praying for you bro.

Leave a Reply

