Skip to content

Sin Levels the Playing Field

January 11, 2010
tags:

My walk through church life growing up has been quite interesting. For the first 10 years of my life I spent in a very suburban church. Everyone there was mostly middle to upper class. Their lives looked good on the surface. The next 10 were spent attending churches that were more on the inner city side of things. One of them ran a bus route, and had people who if you sat within 20 feet of them you could smell them.

About a year ago I worked for a suburban church, you know the kind with cool graphics and people who think they are perfect, or at least they voted for the right guy. I learned so much working there. I learned things that I will carry with me for good, and I learned things that I don’t like, agree with and will never do while I do ministry.

I now work for one of those churches that run a bus route. I believe that God set it up for me to be where I am. This new church is not perfect by any means. And in fact I am pretty sure that some in this church voted for the “wrong” person. I love this church and its people. They might not be perfect, but I love them.

I say all of this to say this: People are the same whether in the suburbs or in the projects. Sin levels the playing field in this life.

All people, including myself are sinners and deserve hell. Making 15,000 or 150,000 doesn’t make you a better person. Shopping at the organic super market and not the Aldi’s doesn’t mean you are better than someone else. Being sinners makes everyone equal.

And because of that the gospel needs to be preached to everyone. Everyone needs God’s grace. Everyone needs His love and needs to understand what He did for us.

God doesn’t care where you live, how you smell, or how much you make. He cares that you understand the gospel, His grace and love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 4:00 am

    Wow. Hey Ben don’t hold back…

    Bitter much? BTW I’ve never met one of those people who think that they are perfect. Maybe you think I think that about myself, I dunno. 🙂

    Funny and very telling post.

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    January 12, 2010 4:33 am

    CindyK I am not bitter. Not sure where you got that vibe. I was just describing churches that are in the suburbs. If you have never met anyone in a large church that thought they were perfect then that is great! : )

    I don’t think you are perfect (I think you are wonderful btw) because you tell me almost every time you comment (which I love) and you, out of all the people I know might understand God’s grace the most. It comes out in your words consistently and that shows me that you are extremely humble and grateful.

    I did not write this post to offend. I am not bitter about anything. I am sorry you felt like that. I thought it was a good piece of writing…i.e. poetic license?

Leave a Reply

