Skip to content

Tables p1

December 28, 2009

*This will be a two part series on the tables of leadership.*

When you sit at the table of leadership, (if there is such a thing) what is the shape of the table? You can either sit at a table that is rectangle or a table that is a circle when it comes to leadership.

The rectangle would be the type of leadership that one person is in control, with the others sitting at the table waiting for marching orders. The type of leader that sits at the head of this table is very egotistical, paranoid, and self- centered. What they say goes and if they are challenged they resort to saying things like “If you value your job…” or “Do you want to work here? Because if you do you’ll get in line.”

If I was to take an educated guess I would say that no one enjoys working for this type of leader. The leader who sits at the front of the rectangle table of leadership rarely motivates people to do work out of passion or desire to make the company or organization better, but usually gets things done by hanging things over peoples heads. The rectangle table style of leadership may lead to success for a time, but in the long run this style destroys lives and leaves in its path a trail of people who were ruined by this style. Look behind you… do people talk poorly of you? Are many people embittered that no one sees the dark side of your success?

I am sure that we have all worked for a person who leads like this one time or another. What I am not sure about is if I can find someone who enjoyed it.

What are your thoughts? Anything that I missed about this style good or bad? Let me know!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 6:15 pm

    i would comment but… i value my job, i want to work here, and I want to stay in line

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    December 29, 2009 3:05 am

    I follow Al. I don’t think anyone from your church is reading my blog, but I follow what you mean.

    This blog might be a reason for me losing a job a few months ago haha jk (but seriously)

    Your statement rings true without saying a word. Thanks for reading.

Trackbacks

  1. Tables p2 «

Leave a Reply

