Skip to content

What is the Skuttle Butt? (I think that is the phrase…)

November 20, 2009
tags:

Come ere, really quick I have some really juicy things to tell you. Are you close? I am going to whisper it in your ear.

Or “Can u blieve that she did tht!?! OMG LOL what a slut!” ttyl : )

Or “Well just tell me what they were doing so we can pray together for them.”

There are many many more, but all of the above are phrases that people use when gossiping. You know what makes me sick? GOSSIP.

Gossip has never produced anything but drama for you and others. Don’t believe me? Take a second to stop doing it, step out of your delusional world and think. Yes I said delusional.

People who gossip are:

  • Lame
  • Immature
  • Not Christ Like
  • Sinning
  • Not Helping Anyone
  • Not Trust Worthy
  • People Who Don’t Have Answers
  • Unbiblical
  • Hurting Themselves
  • Hurting Others
  • Did I Mention Sinning?

Do you get the point? I don’t think I could have made it any clearer.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Brettbarner permalink
    November 20, 2009 3:00 pm

    Ben, you are right on. Honestly though, gossip can become an addiction. Being in the knowing of all that’s going on is hard to walk away from. This is a real problem in the church though.

  2. marksantistevan permalink
    November 20, 2009 4:53 pm

    i agree with your wife because everyone gossips. there is a more humble approach to helping people get past it than this post.

    mark

  3. November 20, 2009 6:55 pm

    Most people will never see the true cost of gossip until it costs THEM something.

    Most people don’t understand the damage that they are doing. Gossip can destroy relationships and damage careers, even if the gossip does not have a basis in fact.

    Most of the time, most of the story that is being gossiped is not accurate. Case in point: Jud Wilhite and Mike Foster referenced an experiment where they got a group of younger people together and taught one of them the theme to the Brady Bunch (they had never seen the show and did not already know it). That person passed in on to the next person, and by the time it reached the last person (less than 20, I can’t remember the exact number), the message was nowhere near accurate. As a matter of fact, it was mostly wrong.

    I personally have been damaged by gossip (entirely untrue gossip, as it were). There are things in my life that will never be the same because of it. As such, I have zero respect for people who do gossip. And I let them know that.

  4. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    November 21, 2009 1:28 am

    Brett you are correct that it really can become an addiction. Maybe the church should offer a something to fix this, and I am not even joking about that. Thanks for reading and commenting! I appreciate it!

    Dubdynomite you make a great point about people not knowing its hurting them until it costs them something. So sorry to hear that you have been hurt by untrue gossip. Move past it, you seem to be bigger than that.
    Thanks for reading and for the comments!

    Mark, You would side with my wife. And 9you are both right that there might be a better way to address the topic/ a kinder (is that a word?) way to write this post. But… then I wouldn’t be being me. Thanks for the comment love. Bring back my power cord at Thanksgiving!

  5. November 21, 2009 1:29 am

    I think a good approach to overcoming gossip is speaking life, not just knowing why it’s bad or wrong. As Brettbarner said it can become an addiction… or a habit.

    We actually talked about this on Wednesday night with our students. I challenged them if they were struggling concerning gossip that they needed to look for opportunities to praise people and to speak life into situations instead of death.

  6. November 21, 2009 4:53 am

    That’s not what I heard, Ben…

  7. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    November 21, 2009 3:27 pm

    Chris that seems like a great way to change this. I like the “looking” part of it for sure.

    Rich, you are right. You didn’t hear it.???

Leave a Reply

